Photo Friday: Spotted While Walking

Suki and I have been taking walks as often as possible lately, while the temp is comfortable (currently hitting mid- to high 70s during the day). I need the exercise, and she needs to sniff or pee on everything in the world.

Here she is on a road near us. I always seek out places with no houses, and not only because I prefer seeing nature; I’m ever cautious of dogs that may bark as I go by (disturbs the peace) or who might be loose and jump out at her. I prefer not leashing her for these walks; there’s so little freedom left in the world, for us or our dogs, and she takes such joy in these rambles. Suki on the Road 2.11.16 sm

On this particular road, I crept up on a butterfly. I can’t tell you what kind it was, because it didn’t open its wings, but I loved getting so much detail. Butterfly 2.13.16 sm

A few days after finding Thompson Road, I stumbled on Abel Canal. It’s wide, like mine, and feeds into another one half a mile away. Totally wild, beautifully quiet. The heron adds just the right touch to the photo.  Remember: click photo to see the largest size. Suki and I love this particular walk, and there’s a bonus: on the other side of the road is another isolated stretch of the same canal. Heron in the Canal 2.16.16 sm

The first time I was there, a yellow-sided skimmer followed me around. I couldn’t take my eyes off him; doesn’t he look like he’s been drenched in gold? You want to see the detail on this one. One of my best dragonfly pics! Yellow-sided Skimmer 2.16.16 sm

I don’t usually get up early, but the other day, I was awake shortly after sunrise. I looked out the window, as I always do, and there was the ‘gator, floating along the canal. I threw on clothes, grabbed the camera, and ran outside. Instead of moving faster to get away from me, or submerging entirely, he stopped, giving me an opportunity to take lots of photos until I got a good one. I was not as close as this picture makes it look. Heh. Canal Gater 2.1.16 sm

A few days ago, a friend who lives in Sacramento sent me a painting she did of Suki. I love it! She uses some kind of special process. I’m looking for the right frame for it. Suki Portrait Val 2.16 sm

That’s it for this week! Hope you have a great weekend.

__________

F Flamingo blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Photo Friday: Spotted While Walking

  1. Beautiful photos (as always) 🙂

  2. AJ Rose says:

    That gator photo is beautiful!

    Also, I miss Suki.

    • 🙂

      I wonder if dogs miss people like we do? You know: think about them, remember the good times, hope you see them soon, etc. But I suspect they don’t miss them until the moment they see them again. Much healthier!

  3. Helena Stone says:

    That gator picture is awesome and I love the Suki painting. Actually, I could happily spend the rest of my day looking at all those images. You do take the best photos.

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    Such a fun post! The gator photo would make a great FB cover. Love it! Thanks for taking me along on your walk! And the Suki painting….wow!! It totally captures her expression! What a phenomenal gift!

  5. Patricia says:

    A pleasure looking at the world through your lens

    • Thanks. After almost two years in Florida, I just found a tick on Suki. I hadn’t been checking for them, but I guess I need to when I strike off into the long grass and woods. I was lulled into a complacent state; mistake! It was a typical wood tick, so no harm done this time. Need I say I immediately stripped and checked myself top to bottom? Heh.

  6. Allison says:

    These are all so wonderful! Suki looks joyful in that first shot. 🙂

    I may have to add to my “Fen’s dragonfly collection” once I get the house set up.

    The gator is really cool too.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    • House first, everything else second. I remember how that works.

      Suki is a happy dog most of the time anyway, but once she gets out in nature, she’s ecstatic. All the new smells! She is full of energy after these walks.

  7. Yvonne says:

    Such wonderful pictures again. I especially love the colors on the gator and Suki is so cute.

Leave a Reply

