No Flash Fic Today

I’ve been editing all week. I didn’t even work on the WIP, though I did give it some thought before falling asleep each night. I know where I want the story to go; I only have to make it happen.

It’s difficult to write when I’m editing. The latter is so focus-intense, I’m exhausted after four or six hours and can’t bear the thought of writing, because that requires focus too, and that’s the last thing I want to do.

This is why I release so few books. It’s an either or proposition, and editing pays the bills. Writing doesn’t and probably never will.

Oh well. Gotta do what ya gotta do, right?

I’ll be back Friday with new photos, though. See you then.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to No Flash Fic Today

  1. Helena Stone says:

    All too often it feels like a rock and a hard place, doesn’t it? What we really want to do versus what we need to do just to keep our heads above water. Personally I’m just excited you’re working on a new story. I hope you’ll find the time to continue with it soon.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    I have the opposite problem, lately. I can’t focus to save my soul. I even struggle to read. I’ll crack a book and start reading and within minutes (if that long) I’m thinking about everything BUT what I’m reading. It’s frustrating because I used to have great control of my mind and could not only focus, but multitask like a fiend. Not anymore. šŸ˜¦

    I remember talking to my mom one night on the way home from work and she told me she’d had a wonderful day. She got up, did a few chores and then spent the entire rest of the day reading. I told her I was jealous – I hadn’t read a book in years. She said, “I didn’t always have this luxury. When you kids were growing up, I never had time or energy left at the end of the day to read. It’s a trade off. I miss a lot about those days when the house was full of life, but I also love my peace and quiet.” Not a life-changing conversation – just one I remember – and one I draw upon right now when things suddenly seem so hectic.

    • Any week where I don’t have an edit scheduled and there are no appointments on the calendar are good weeks. I’ve come to hate “have to’s.” I don’t even like needing to grocery shop. I just want to lay around or take drives or go on walks with Suki. Read, binge on Netflix… whatever.

      I wish I could really retire. *sigh*

  3. Judy says:

    Take your time, I missed a lot of flash fics, so I’m greatful for a chance to catch up šŸ˜‰

  4. A.M.B. says:

    There just isn’t enough time to do everything. I can only imagine how exhausting it must be to edit. I proofread briefs and other documents–which are far shorter than manuscripts–and I find that mentally draining.

    • I don’t think people realize how demanding editing is. At a typical job, you can multi-task without it affecting productivity or output, but when you edit? Focus has to be 100 percent, every second of every minute.

      Yes, it is exhausting. There are days when I quit with a headache. šŸ˜‰ That’s when it’s time to kick back with a drink and watch mindless TV. It’s definitely not the time to doing anything as creative as writing.

Leave a Reply

