Monday Flash Fic: The Rooftop

12705459_480761105444315_8849239525246831840_n“We should have brought food.” I tossed the newspaper aside.

“There’s plenty of wine. Drink enough of that, and you won’t be hungry.”

“Who said I’m hungry?” I gazed across the roof to the building across the street. It was half a dozen floors taller than the one we were on. “What I am is bored. I nibble when I’m bored.”

“Patience, Simon.”

Curling my lip in annoyance, I thwacked him on the near shoulder. “You always, always get us here too early.”

He turned the pages of the rag he was reading. “Bitch, bitch bitch.”

We were lying on our stomachs on a blanket. The sun was behind a cloud, and I felt a chill as the wind blew over me. “How much longer?”

“Shouldn’t be too long now.” He lifted his glass and sipped, then licked his lips. “Oh, this is good.”

I’d hardly touched mine. I’d wait until after, as usual.

While Brian continued calmly perusing the Daily Mail, I inspected my nails. Then I counted windows on the building across the street. I searched for X-rated shapes in the clouds. My nerves drew tighter and tighter.

As if sensing my uneasiness, he laid a hand on my forearm and squeezed. “All in good time,” he said evenly. “Relax.”

This was always the way. He was laid back, and I was wound as tight as a spring by the time the moment came. Somehow, it worked. We were a great team.

“There,” Brian said and pointed.

The light had come on in Room 624 in the building across the road. I untensed, as I always did at this moment, and reached into a long black bag. Removing the AS50, I sighted through the telescope. Yes, that was the target. He was just showing out the bellboy and closing the door.

Brian turned a page. “I can’t stand the writing in this paper.”

“Why do you read it then?” Breathing in and out slowly, I rested my finger lightly on the trigger. When the target moved to the window to check the view, I held my breath and fired twice. The bullets truck him cleanly in the middle of the chest, and he went down.

I waited a moment to make sure he wasn’t going to surprise me and pop back up, then got to my knees. “Mission accomplished.” I put the sniper rifle back in the bag, then picked up my glass and drank deeply.  “You’re right. This is good.”

__________

Word count: 410
Genre: Action/Adventure
Read more flash fics here.

__________

Wolf Bound blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: The Rooftop

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Haha! This is awesome! Maybe it’s just my “Larry” mind set, but right from the start, I was thinking, “paparazzi” – and then when you mentioned the Daily Fail, I was sure I was right. You got me. 😉

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Very nice, I had no idea what to expect and you took me completely by surprise 🙂 Just the way I like it.

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    Got me! Here i was waiting for them to have sex on the roof while some parade went by below. Maybe the Queen.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    That definitely took me by surprise! Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

