Friday Photos: Birds

Last week, I visited Corkscrew March. I was fortunate to be able to photograph a couple of birds.

The first is the robin. He’s not up north right now because he’s down here, making the woods pretty. 🙂 The robin may be a common bird, but he’s beautiful, don’t you think? Lovely markings and that gorgeous red breast.Robin 1.24.16 sm

Here’s another shot of him. I like this picture because of the spray of glittering green palm frond behind him. Robin 2 1.24.16 sm

I was on my way back to the car when I spotted a downy woodpecker in a tree just off the trail. He didn’t seem to mind me being there overmuch. They are small birds, only about 6″ tall. The red on his head is vibrant!Downy Woodpecker 1.24.16 sm

Here’s another woodpecker, this one the red-bellied. Spotted it at R’s, darting around a palm tree. The light was in the wrong quarter, but I still got an acceptable photo. Red-Bellied Woodpecker 1.30.16 sm

Back at my house, I spotted a limpkin, walking along the edge of the canal, hunting for apple snails. They keep the snail population from getting out of hand. Limpkin 1.20.16 sm

Across the canal, the neighbor’s ginger cat was stalking the wild rooftop. 😉 No idea how he got up there, but he was looking for a way down. Did he panic? Nope. He studied the situation at length before finally deciding on his escape route. Cat Goes for Stroll 1.24.16 sm

At R’s that evening, I strolled down the road and noticed this field of colorful plants. No idea what they are, but they’re beautiful, especially against the green of the palms behind them. Field of Color 1.26.16 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Photos: Birds

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Just one word: Gorgeous 🙂

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    You have such a wonderful eye! And a steady hand. And apparently the right vibe so that they let you see them. Seeing these is a lovely way to start a day. Thanks!

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    We love robins up here because they are a harbinger of spring. (Even though some never leave now since winters are warmer.) Love the cat pic. 🙂

  4. Allison says:

    I love the cat on the roof! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before. I am not much for cats running loose, but that’s a great picture of it just hanging out. 🙂

  5. diannegray says:

    These are lovely photos – and you know how much I LOVE birds! 😀

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Lovely, as usual. We participated in the GBBC this weekend and saw all of the regular visitors to the feeders except for the red-bellied woodpeckers. Not one. 😦

    • I haven’t seen a red-headed woodpecker for several years. Last time was in Wisconsin on one of my favorite back roads. As it happens, that’s the same road where I saw the hummingbird moths, too.

Leave a Reply

