Friday Photos

We’ve had a lot of rain lately, but during a sunny, albeit cool day, I took the camera over to the preserve on Corkscrew Road. I never know what I’m going to see there, and I like that it’s a place where I can get away from people and their noise. All I hear is the wind in the trees and an occasional bird call.

This lets me know I’m in a wild area. ๐Ÿ™‚ย Bear Country Sign 1.24.16 sm

I set off along the path. Suki wasn’t with me this time; I was concerned about bears and panthers. She’d make a nice mouthful for them, wouldn’t she?ย Corkscrew Trail 1.24.16 sm

It was mid-afternoon, and I was happy to be tramping around in the woods again after a prolonged period spent inside. Much as I love being at home, I also crave the great outdoors, with all it has to offer. Nature relaxes and refreshes me.

Saw this feathery plant and snapped a shot. Because that’s the only thing I saw, I processed the photo so you would focus on that plant. It fairly glowed in the sun.Flower tortch 1.24.16 sm

Here’s another plant that caught my eye. No idea what it’s called, but itย almost sparkled in the light.Sparkly Plant 1.24.16 sm

There is a huge swamp at the end of one of the trails, with a wood walkway to take you out over the wet. Because of all the rain we’ve had, there was a lot of standing water in the area.Corkscrew Swamp 1.24.16 sm

I didn’t see any interesting ground animals on this trip, but I did get pictures of some birds. You’ll see those next week.

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. Allison says:

    Do you have bear spray? Where does one purchase bear spray?

    “… and speak in a calm voice.” *snort* “Excuse me, Bear, I’m going to be slowly backing away now, as per the sign.” :p

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Black bears won’t hurt you. I’d love to see one. I used to follow Dr. Lynn Rogers via his website Bear.org. He has a big bear center up in Ely, MN. American black bears are misunderstood. They are very gentle.

    • They are. I remember, when I lived in River Falls, a black bear wandered into town near the college campus and climbed a tree. They shot him with tranks to get him down and moved to a safer area. When I lived in Hudson, along the river, I heard of a black bear that denned under someone’s back deck. Heh.

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    We’ve recently had days in which the temperature didn’t get above 32ยฐ so I yearn to be on those glorious paths. It warms me up a bit just to see your pictures.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Those are gorgeous, but then I have a thing about trees and forests. Not sure how I would cope with the possibility of bears though ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing. I always enjoy your photos.

  5. diannegray says:

    I would love to walk through that area (with a truckload of bear spray) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

