Photo Friday: This and That

Bird Silhouette 11.4.15 sm

The pic above is fairly iconic: perching bird with one leg drawn up. That dead tree is no longer standing. It came down during a heavy rain. 

The little fellow below was in my courtyard one morning. The cold had paralyzed him, and I was able to take a few photos. No, it is not the dreaded flying cockroach, called the palmetto bug. It is, as I found out, a tawny mole cricket. Kind of cute in an ugly way, isn’t it?  They are considered pests because they eat plant roots. Notice the “fingers?” Those burrowing dactyls let them get down under the green. They can fly, too, and cover as much as a mile a day. I haven’t seen him since, so he must have moved on.Tawny Mole Cricket 1.3.16 sm

My neighbors across the canal have a cat. They sometimes let it out when they can watch it. It went down to the water one day. I wonder if the owners know about the ‘gators? Cat might taste pretty good if you’re tired of ibis. 😉 Neighbor's Cat 1.12.16 sm

Those same people throw bread out for the birds. Naughty, naughty! Not supposed to do that. But their behavior does attract flocks of birds, usually ibis. A young wood stork appeared in the group one day. Ibis and Wood Stork 1.8.16 sm

An ibis found an overlooked piece of bread in the long grass next to the canal. He’s not quite adult yet, or he’d be completely white. Hungry Ibis 1.8.16 sm

A dragonfly pic from last October. Yup, finally reorganizing the photos. 🙂 Dragonfly 10.28.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend! See you Monday.

_________

Half Moon House blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo Friday: This and That

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous images. I think the first one is my favourite; I love the contrast. Having said that, the dragonfly is a very close second. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    I hate to say that bug picture is my favorite (although it really is) so I’ll pick the dragonfly. You definitely have a knack of capturing gorgeous photos of them. I never paid them a bit of attention until your pics. Now they fascinate me.

    • I’d like to see a wider variety of them here. Perhaps if I go to the ‘glades.

      That bug is cool looking! I’ve never seen “hands” like that before. The world of small living things fascinates me because you can’t “see” the creatures clearly until you get a good pic of them.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        I know. I always LOVE the shots taken from under a microscope of common, everyday things. Like the one of beach sand – it’s soooo cool to see what it’s really made up of.

  3. Allison says:

    I always love your dragonfly shots. There’s a marshy area near here, I will have to go and see if I can find some to shoot.

    Gorgeous, as always.

  4. nautibritches says:

    Wow. Fabulous photos. I love the dragonfly. May i print it out and include it in my journal? Sometimes i sell them when i get too many. I love your photos. thank you for sharing. I especially love the suki photos. I have an elderly Maltese who is very adored and extremely indulged. Have a great weekend:)

    • You can print it for your journal, but you may not sell my photos.

      Maltese are very cute; they were my first choice when I was looking to acquire a dog. Too expensive for me, though, and now I’m glad. Suki is perfect.

  5. diannegray says:

    I love your images. We have something similar to your tawny mole cricket and call it a ‘toe biter’ although I’m not sure why because they don’t actually bite, they just try to burrow between your toes which can give you a bit of a fright….and you know I love dragon flies 😀

    • The closest thing we have that compares to your toe biters are probably perch. If you stand in the shallows in any freshwater lake up north, they will nibble on your skin. It’s actually kind of cool. 🙂 It’s like they’re tasting you.

Leave a Reply

