Friday Photos: Fort Denaud Bridge

Suki and I were going a little stir crazy Sunday, so I decided to go for a drive. I went north and crossed the Caloosahatchee River at Alva, a small town consisting mostly of cattle farms and single-family homes on overlarge lots. I’ll post some of those pics another time. Today, I’m concentrating on the bridge that took us back over the river.

It was chilly last weekend. Highs were only in the upper 60s. Terrific sleeping weather! It was wonderful diving deep under the comforter; I left the windows open all night. Unfortunately, it was also gray; there’s been intermittent rain for days. We need it, so I’m not complaining, but it did lend a rather dreary air to the photos.

The Fort Denaud bridge is 106 years old, according to the lady attending to it. She has a pretty terrific job; I contemplated applying for it as I drove home. She also told me there is only one other bridge like it in all of Florida. It doesn’t draw up to let the boats through; it turns sideways.

Here’s the sequence:Β 

The lady walks out to the middle of the movable part of the bridge and does something with the controls on the right. You can see a metal box on her left. The pink thing is a scarf; it had started to rain.Β  Bridge Lady 1.3.16 sm

The bridge begins to move sideways. She told me there’s a thirty-foot drop at the end of the road.Β Bridge Mid-swing 1.3.16 sm

Here, the bridge is almost completely open and you can see the gigantic mechanism under it that makes it move. I asked her if she thought it was safe. From her expression, I don’t think it had ever occurred to her to wonder. Uh-huh. Built way back in 1910 or so? Right.Bridge amost fully open 1.3.16 sm

Here comes the boat. They know the bridge lady; apparently they go through here a lot.Boat 1.3.16 sm

Midway through. Boat Going Through 1.3.16 sm

And out the other side. My guess is the wood cribs on either side allow bridge techs to effect repairs when necessary. There is a ladder on the far end of the bridge; someone could climb up it easily, if need be. (All pics can be clicked to see full-size.)Boat is through 1.3.16 sm

And that was my exciting adventure last Sunday. πŸ˜‰ Suki stayed in the car for this; safer for her. I snapped this after we got home. Suki 1.3.16 sm

Have a great weekend! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Photos: Fort Denaud Bridge

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful images, thank you for sharing

    • As it happens, it’s raining again today. Very odd. This is normally the dry season. What’s the world coming to when the sun doesn’t shine every day in Florida? πŸ˜‰

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Had a feeling the bridge was gonna swing sideways when you posted your teaser. We have one of those in Cleveland I think…? I saw my first drawbridge in action when I went to Boston this summer. Of course it had to go up when we were on the way to the airport. This one was cool though. The section of road over the water actually rises horizontally. Very cool, but also very slow when you’re in a hurry. πŸ˜‰

  3. suze294 says:

    We call them swing bridges, though there may be a more technical name. We had 2, built mid 1890’s but only one still in place now

  4. Allison says:

    That looks really cool! I’ve seen bridges like this before, it’s neat to see it handled differently. I’m amazed that they haven’t figured out a way to move the bridge without someone standing on it yet. πŸ™‚

    Suki, ,as always, so adorbz!

    We had a few days of gloom and I actually enjoyed it, but that’s probably partially because I knew the sun would be back in no time.

    • The sun has been going in and out today, interspersed with light showers. A nice day overall, and quite warm. Looks like our cooler temps have withdrawn again, at least for a while.

  5. Yvonne says:

    Very cute pic of Suki. Hope there’s not more rain this weekend. We’re ‘enjoying’ temps of around 17 degrees Fahrenheit at the moment; pretty unusual and cold but I’ll take it over the near constant rain.

    • We never get constant rain. Up north, clouds would move in and stay for weeks on end. This doesn’t happen in Florida. It rains, the clouds move out, the sun shines, maybe the clouds move in again for a bit. Being between two major bodies of water, weather changes here constantly, though it is almost always nice and warm. πŸ™‚

  6. Love the picture of Suki. When I visited my dad in 2000 for his 80th birthday, he lived just across that river from LaBelle.

Leave a Reply

