Photo Friday: Back at the Lake House

I spend a lot of time there, and in future, it’s the only one of R’s places I’ll visit as–pending disaster–he has sold his other house. That’s the one with the pool. He’s in the process of moving stuff over already. I have a terrible feeling it’s going to be stuffed with crap by the time he’s finished, as he hates to get rid of things. Meh. He closes early in February, so there’s not much time for him to sort and throw and donate.

I better get a few more photos over there before it’s gone, huh?

It was a dark and stormy afternoon…. πŸ™‚ Actually, it never did rain, but the clouds were impressive.Β Lake Before Storm 12.11.15 sm

This is a Hong Kong Orchid Tree. R planted it only a year ago, butΒ it’s grown a lot! Amazing and beautiful. I wanted to photograph it against the darkness of the island.Β Hong Kong Orchid 12.9.15 sm

Suki in the lanai. Not sure what captured her attention, but notice her tongue sticking out just a little? Suki in Lake House12.11.15 sm

I have a particular fondness for the little lizards that run around. They used to be mostly green, but an invasive brown variety pretty much wiped them out. I miss the green ones; I don’t see them often anymore. This one was hanging on a screen.Β Lizard 12.11.15 sm

The same afternoon I took the photo above, I came home to see a lizard perched on a statue in the neighbor’s yard. She’s one of those people who thinks tacky statues look wonderful. Trust me, it’s not so cool. This might be the best one she has. I love how it looks like the boy is reaching up to touch the lizard. Perfect timing!Statue and Lizard 12.11.15 sm

Bad news! The dead tree across the canal finally came down after several days of rain. That made me sad, as the birds loved to perch in it. The next morning, I glanced out and saw the anhinga sitting on it. πŸ™‚Β Anhinga12.4.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

__________

Precog blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Photo Friday: Back at the Lake House

  1. Helena Stone says:

    LOL, I completely forgot it’s Friday. Christmas does that to me. Thank you for yet another collection of wonderful photos, they always make me smile. Love the one of Suki. Do you, like me, often wonder what exactly goes on inside their heads?

    You do live in a beautiful part of the world. Much as I love to tease you, I don’t blame you at all for being happy in Florida and never wanting to leave. May you be happy there for a long time yet! Have a wonderful weekend ❀

    • The heat gets a bit oppressive in summer, but every single place you walk into is air-conditioned, so one learns to stay inside during the day and go out at night, like vampires. πŸ˜‰ And oh, the nights are wonderful! Unlike the upper Midwest, the culture here is outdoors. We take advantage of the fine weather as often as possible.

      Sometimes I feel like I know what Suki is thinking without having to wonder about it. After thirteen years together, I know her well. But as to what she’s really thinking? No idea. They say dogs can learn up to 250 words and phrases in English. Have they adopted our language the way they adopted us?

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Looks like Paradise! And always love a pic of Suki in the mix! She’s too cute. πŸ˜€ Merry Christmas, Theo! ❀

  3. W. Lotus says:

    These are beautiful! I like how crisp and vibrant your photos are.

  4. Yvonne says:

    Wonderful photos, I love the stormy sky and the one with the orchid tree. Thanks as well for sharing some of your personal pics yesterday.
    Like Helena, I’m not on weekdays at the moment. Simply enjoying 4 days of not having to run around. Enjoy you weekend.

  5. Allison says:

    Nooo! No pool? 😦

    The lizard shots are great, it so looks like the boy is reaching up to brush the lizard off.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Jaycee Edward says:

    Are you sure those aren’t baby alligators? Heh. πŸ˜›

  7. Lindsaysf says:

    Ho ho ho and all that! Lovely pictures! Brings a touch of tropical beauty and warmth into my home. Though it isn’t all that cold today. 45 degrees. The ice perching precariously on the roof of my house is dripping while it decides when (on whom?) to drop.

    • It’s around 87 here this afternoon. That’s hot for this time of year, but at least we aren’t 20-30 degrees warmer than normal, like much of the rest of the eastern half of the US.

      Roof ice is sneaky. Be careful. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

