The Truth

Judge not, lest ye be judged. Isn’t that how it goes? Please remember how much happiness and joy Thorny & Co. gave us.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Truth

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I will always have good and happy memories about Thorny & co. They more often than not put a smile on my face when I read their posts and they’ll continue to do so in my memories of them.

  2. suze294 says:

    Agree with you both – always excited to see what he posted. The stories were always so well written and immensely funny.
    I hope the future is brighter.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    😦

  4. Sammy Goode says:

    Theo, I often find myself agreeing with you on many issues. Unfortunately this is not one of them. She deliberately used some people. She used them for many things not only emotional support, but financially. I’m not talking about the people who bought her art and got something in return, I’m talking about people who willingly sent money, hundreds of dollars of money. She should have stopped that. She wasn’t Thorny–he was fictitious and money should never has exchanged hands. She has hurt a lot of people. It may well be that we should call them foolish for believing in an online persona, but this went above and beyond a pen name. This involves money and goods and a novel. It’s hard to know, but I’m betting that the novel would not have done as well as it did had it not had Thorny’s name on it; particularly since she herself has written her own novel under her pen name and it has not done nearly as well as Spllinters. This is a very sad situation.

    • I agree it’s an unfortunate situation. And when I realized after reading all the comments on the blog yesterday she’d taken advantage of people financially, I decided to remove myself from the situation. I do think she crossed a line, whatever her reasons for doing so. If she’d only left it at the blog posts and selling the paintings! The former were entertainment, the latter offered something real in exchange for money.

      I still believe people have the right to be anyone they want online, even if that is four different people, but when you start taking advantage of others financially… no. That is not cool. Whatever her reasons for doing this, it apparently got out of hand. It’s terrible so many people were hurt by her actions.

      I was notified by Thorny via email over a week ago that he and the others didn’t exist. I do know the real name of the person behind the blog. I don’t know her in real life, and I haven’t bought her books–not even Splinters. She is a stranger to me, though I don’t think she is a bad person. There would have to be a lot of good in someone to write the way she did. I did love Thorny & Co., and I will miss them. I hope people will temper the anger they have a right to feel with a greater feeling of forgiveness. She made a mistake. Granted, it was a big one, but who among us has not done the same?

      Thanks for your comment, Sammy.

      • Miss V says:

        “She made a mistake. Granted, it was a big one, but who among us has not done the same? “Sorry Theo, I can assure you 100 % that I haven’t made that kind of mistake in my entire life.
        Please be so kind to stop comparing mistake with deceiving.
        Deceiving is deliberately cause (someone) to believe something that is not true, especially for personal gain.
        And if this wasn’t bad enough (deceiving people for money and presents) she also deceive people by pretending to be a 20 something gay boy. She also created a fictional boy that I talked to him for weekes trying to help him with his depression and abused, And this woman killed him by a fake suicide. I cried for days thinking I didn’t do enough to help him.
        No Theo, in this world I can assure you, not many people can be this awful. We made mistakes, but we don’t decieve.

        • My apologies for not being more clear. I only meant we all make mistakes, some worse than others. Of course most of us don’t do what this person did.

          I am unfamiliar with the suicide of Mores; I came to the blog rather late compared to some people and never knew about it until I saw it referred to in comments.

  5. lenalee says:

    I only have my own experiences and I was surprised to read some of the later comments and saw what some people experienced and it did make me sad that things were taken so far. I never imagined the extent and feel for them. I also realized this morning it could have been me. I came close to mailing a wedding gift to both couples. The one thing that stopped me was my husband losing his job. If ever there was a sign, I guess that could be it. I guess I lost a little of my innocence yesterday.

    • It never occurred to me to send a wedding gift. While I liked Thorny and the rest quite a lot, I didn’t feel close to them in that way.

      The more people invested emotionally in those four people, the more hurt they were when they found out they were characters. I think a lot of people lost some of their innocence during the revelation.

  6. Kris says:

    I did send a wedding gift. Along with hundreds of dollars worth of expensive bakeware and other things this past year, because “Alec” loved making cookies, loved presents, and I thought it eased some of his burden of being a disabled alcoholic vet. So, yeah, any joy I experienced from that is now tainted because that money should have been spent on military members who actually exist and need the support.

Leave a Reply

