Friday Photos: Lake House

I’m back at R’s again today. There’s almost always something interesting to photograph there. This is Lake Camille.Lake Camille 10.18.15 sm

Plenty of flowers in bloom right now, too. I don’t know what this is, but the bush resides at the corner of the lanai, and hummingbirds and mockingbirds love it. Red Flower 10.18.15 sm

This is the flower on a plumeria, otherwise known as frangipani. The plants grow quite large and tall. R has several here and at his other house. I have one in a big pot, but it has not bloomed yet. Plumeria Blossoms 10.18.15 sm

I call this a spike plant, but I’m sure there’s a more recognizable name for it. 😉 I used the flash on this one, as it was late in the day. I like the symmetry and lighting of the arms.Spike Plant 10.18.15 sm

A spider was busy in a web in one corner of the house. It’s so very difficult to take pictures of these little fellows, as the camera isn’t quite sure what to focus on. I’m going to have to keep playing with settings to see if I can’t do better. Spider 10.18.15 sm

The osprey was back, too, with a fish. Osprey with fish 8.17.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

Phoenix blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Friday Photos: Lake House

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures once again. I love all those plants and flowers we don’t get ‘in the wild’ around here. It’s almost as if you live in a different world 🙂

    • I kind of do, compared to where you live. 🙂 Very tropical here. You’re more temperate, like Wisconsin. Each climate has pluses and minuses, and both are beautiful. Desert is probably the only climate I wouldn’t like. Too dry, too flat, too earthy. I need that green.

  2. Patricia says:

    Love those spider webs. The spring up so quickly. I try never to destroy their webs, have photographed a few.

  3. Beautiful shots, Fen. I’ve only recently gotten mature enough to appreciate spider webs for their construction and the amount of effort and skill that goes into them. One of my friends had this HUGE spider on her front door opening and it built a ladder-type web. She managed to move it (web and all) into a bush instead. I’d never seen that type of web. Turns out it’s a Jacob’s Ladder Spider but even after Googling, I didn’t see a web as beautiful as the one at her house. Glad she didn’t destroy it.

  4. Gorgeous pics as usual. You’re very talented with a camera 😀

  5. diannegray says:

    I love frangipani and have a few small ones growing around the RUC. The picture of the osprey with the fish is awesome!

  6. Yvonne says:

    Lovely pictures, I think the frangipani is gorgeous. Nice to see a spot of summer while we’re having our first wintery day.

    • Is it snowing where you are?

      A few days ago, I was sitting outside with Suki and thinking how nice it is never to have to deal with snow and cold again. I’m so over winter.

      • Yvonne says:

        No snow as of yet, just had to scrape ice off the car windows. Not a fan of winter either especially since we hardly ever get a proper summer. If we could get a few months of warm weather every summer I wouldn’t mind winter so much. Always love the first snow of the season.

  7. Allison says:

    PLUMERIA! I can have that here and it may be my favorite thing about moving here. I am soooo excited about it! 😀

    I didn’t know you had it. We’ll have to share pictures once they’ve bloomed.

Leave a Reply

