Friday Photos: Odds and Ends

I’ve been fortunate enough to take some amazing pictures lately, and I’m slowly processing them to share.

Very near the hidden lake I visited last week is an abandoned miniature golf place. Most of it has fallen into complete ruin, and a heavy chain-link fence surrounds the rest, making it really hard to take photos, but I shot this fairy castle through the fence in two frames, then combined them in Photoshop. Abandoned Miniature Golf 10.21.15 sm

About a mile from there is a road that goes nowhere. It was meant to be sold off in lots so people could build, but the 2008 housing crash took care of that. The grass is kept mowed, but I have a feeling no one goes there much anymore. Dead End Road 10.21.15 sm

Down and around the next road is a tree draped in Spanish moss. It’s beautiful, but on some trees, it kills them. Spanish Moss 10.21.15 sm

Not far from the tree is an oasis of sorts. It’s a triangle of green between two roads, and there are no houses. There are, however, lots of bird domiciles, an arched bridge, a bench, and assorted other treasures hidden in and under a tree. I met the guy who takes care of this spot. Nice man. Inherited the house across the street from his parents and says he’d never return to Ohio now, he loves it in Florida so much. Garden Display 2 10.21.15 sm

The yellow spinner is new, and it prompted me to finally take some photos of this pretty little place, which exists for no other reason than to give people joy. Garden Display 10.21.15 sm

I was sitting in the lanai, editing, when I heard bird chatter. Not just peaceful “I’m lovin’ the day” stuff, but fighting. Two woodpeckers were going at it in the tree near my condo. I grabbed the camera and got a couple shots before they flew away. This is the best one because it shows that gorgeous red head. Red-headed Woodpecker 10.28.15

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Half Moon House blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Photos: Odds and Ends

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Thanks for that lovely ride. I almost feel like I went with you. A nice mental escape on an otherwise yucky Friday the 13th. Had to laugh – I’ll bet if you did a census of just FL,the biggest percentage of residents are from OH.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful, as always. I especially love that quirky sanctuary. Maybe I should create something similar in our garden one day. Thanks you for sharing 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    Love them! It’s great you’re finding all these amazing places. I particularly like the castle, there’s something a little haunting about it.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • That castle is very near the hidden lake. I ride there frequently now because it’s quiet, off the beaten track, and I know I’ll find something to photograph. Google maps is great, but it doesn’t always tell you about these little treasures. I have to go and find them.

  4. diannegray says:

    I love the Spanish moss pic – it looks like fairyland. It’s hard to get pictures of birds and you’ve done really well here. By the time I grab my camera they’ve taken off. Sometimes the kookaburras sit on the tree outside and laugh really loudly – I grab my video camera and they immediately shut up 😉

    • Since the two ‘gators moved in, the birds haven’t been as plentiful. Even the ducks have decreased in numbers. Not a bad thing, that. Ugly ducks. 😉

      That tree with the Spanish moss is really, really tall. It’s beautiful! The yard where it lives also belongs to people who decorate like mad for Halloween. 🙂 One of my favorite places in the neighborhood.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    What a lovely thought: places that exist for no other reason but to give people joy. Thanks for spreading that joy all around the world by posting these pictures!

Leave a Reply

