Friday Photos: Hidden Lake

I was exploring in the area a couple weeks ago and discovered a lovely isolated area. You wouldn’t expect to see this in the middle of a built-up place. There is a huge apartment complex a stone’s throw from here and a main road half a mile away. I hope whoever owns it hangs onto it indefinitely. People should always live near wild areas. 

This is the first spot I stopped. I was on the scooter (best way to explore back here).Hidden Lake 1 10.21.15 sm

This is a panorama made of two shots. The knotted rope is evidence kids use the spot, and I was glad to see it. Kids should have private places to play. Isn’t this amazing? I didn’t hear any human noise while I was here. Just birds and the wind in the leaves. Hidden Lake pano 10.21.15 sm

The above was taken at what I’ve labeled the “back” of the property. Continuing around the other side, I saw this. Hidden Lake 3 10.21.15 sm

Completing the circle, and just before I exited the area, I took this photo. Hidden Lake 4 10.21.15 sm

For safety’s sake, I will not visit here on weekends or when the kids are out of school. As noted, it’s isolated, and I’m not so brave I want to run into people with less than kind thoughts on their mind. Not to mention, it would be all too easy to shove me off my scooter and take it. So I’m careful when I explore, but I’ll never stop exploring. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Friday Photos: Hidden Lake

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful pictures, but isn’t it sad you have to plan your exploring like that if you want to feel/be safe. Having said that, I’m delighted to hear you’re safety is the first thing on your mind, although (and I seem to be going around in a circle here) it is sad that you have to be so conscious of it.

    • Well, I’m not an idiot, and we live in more dangerous times. Others would perceive me to be old and easy to take advantage of, too, so I have to consider the possibility of being attacked for the scooter. Having been born biologically female, I’m well aware of the socially-ingrained fear I picked up because of my sex. I’m always aware of my surroundings, including the people nearby. And that is the greater tragedy: that women never feel free to be anywhere alone. Always on guard, always alert, always fearful of who might approach.

      That being said, even if my body was male, I’d be cautious.

  2. Lisa B. says:

    Awesome photos! I used to play and swim in a place like this when I was a kid. Those were wonderful times. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    How lovely! Do kids swim in there? No gators?

    • Kids swim there, and I’m pretty sure there are ‘gators. 😉 But I’m also pretty sure they’re careful. Alligators would be more likely to go after a small dog or cat as opposed to a human.

  4. It’s gorgeous! Especially the panoramic shot. See now, I’m more likely to walk in remote areas on weekends BECAUSE of the people. I feel like more of a target when it’s isolated and no one’s around.

    • But I can’t enjoy places like this so much when people are around, talking and laughing and blocking my views. 😉 This is the second “hidden” water place I’ve found, and I’m careful to visit them only when kids are in school and adults are likely to be at work. Never on weekends unless R is with me.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    “People should always live near wild areas.” I agree. I love coming across hidden areas like that. Beautiful photos!

  6. Allison says:

    This is idyllic. That is exactly what popped into my head when I saw it. Although I’m much more of a city person I would love to be able to visit somewhere like this on a regular basis. As always, beautiful shots.

  7. diannegray says:

    Fantastic photos! I’m even careful walking around my own farm because it’s so isolated. I’m always alert for trespassers. But we all need a good isolated walk every now and again – it’s very good for the soul xxx

Leave a Reply

