Friday Photos: Halloween Edition

This week, to celebrate the joy that is Halloween, I’ll post a few pics I took around the area. Kids don’t come to the condos, but there are plenty of them in the neighborhood, and lots of people have gone all out decorating. Spiders seem to be the thing this year. I saw quite a few.Halloween 2 10.16.15 smHalloween 1 10.16.15 sm

Just around the corner from me was a wonderfully decorated yard full of interesting things. I particularly like this voodoo creation.ย Halloween Ghoul 10.21.15 sm

I haven’t seen this bat anywhere else. I bet his eyes glow in the dark. ๐Ÿ™‚ย Haunted Owl 10.21.15 sm

And last, the ghoulย waiter no yard can do without.ย Halloween Butler 10.21.15 sm

I hope everyone has a terrific Halloween! Party safely!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Friday Photos: Halloween Edition

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful pictures. I don’t think I’ve ever seen decorations quite as elaborate around here. Your neighbours have turned it into quite an art form. I just wonder, that creature you call a bat (last but one picture), isn’t that an owl?

    Thank you for sharing. Have a wonderful weekend and Halloween ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Those are great decorations. I used to decorate for Halloween back in the early 80’s. I remember my stepdaughter whining at me that we looked like idiots because NO ONE decorates for Halloween! We were even in the paper one year because of it. I’d like to think I started a trend. Now I’m doing good to get a pumpkin carved. (Which reminds me, I need to carve them like…soon.)

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    I used to have SOOOO much Halloween stuff. It was ridiculous. Then at some point I started to realize how I’m spending all this time decorating – and then taking it all down and re-storing it. Now I basically do nothing but a pumpkin or two. Same goes for Christmas – each year I do less and less. Someone invited me to a “Christmas Candle Party” the other day. Uh..no.

    • Since I became a non-consumer some years back, I refuse to participate in stuff designed to suck money out of me. I enjoy it when people have fun with holidays, but I’ve known too many who run up massive credit card debt because 1) it’s expected of them, or 2) they can’t resist the lure of shiny things. Christmas is a particularly horrendous time of year, and I pretty much skip the whole things these days.

      Lately, it’s Paypal that’s been bugging the crap out of me. Every other day it seems I get another email designed to get me to buy buy buy something or other. They have no idea who they’re dealing with. I’m immune to that shit, so consequently I am thoroughly annoyed at their persistence.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        Yeah, “I don’t need it,” has become kind of a mantra of mine. We went to an indoor flea market type thing in Amish country yesterday and while I almost bought: a puppy that was $500 and then instantly marked down to $350 when I handed him back b/c I’d never really buy a puppy from Amish puppymill country, a purse that I still kind of regret not buying but didn’t b/c I don’t need it, a really cool airplant terrarium thingy that, you know, I don’t need, and some hot pepper jelly that I DID need but they only take cash or checks – both of which I never carry, so, I came home empty handed. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Allison says:

    Great neighbors! Our neighbors in PA were terminally boring and I’m not seeing much more here, but then apartment complexes don’t tend to decorate that much.

    Halloween was always window decorations and pumpkins for me, Christmas is when we go all out. It’s going to be weird not to have a tree this year, Kevin is not pleased at all about that, and really neither am I. I love the lights and pretty even if it is commercialized, considering I don’t celebrate anything, but the secular part that’s what makes the season for me. I wonder if the warm weather will have us cutting back, although it’s still getting dark here early so maybe not.

    Happy Halloween!

  5. Patricia says:

    You shocked me with the remark about Amish puppy mills. I can’t see how that horrible industry goes hand in hand with Amish values but I certainly take you at your word. My dad warned me never to get one of those puppies, and he wouldn’t carry any dogs in his pet shop, and that was one of the reasons. The finest dog is a mutt of mysterious parentage, as our dog was. It’s great that more and more people are adopting “rescue dogs.”

  6. A.M.B. says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Halloween! The decorations in your area are great.

Leave a Reply

