Monday Flash Fic: Why There Are No Unicorns

11222166_449200498600376_580736036153526202_nThe report came in from the NYC team midmorning. Someone had put up a missing unicorn flyer, and it had gone viral. His friend, dream guide–and let’s face it, his keeper–told him about it over breakfast.

“It’s struck a chord,” Beth said, pouring herself a cup of tea.

Merlin ate a mushroom and red pepper omelet with gusto. Even after all these centuries of life, he still appreciated well-prepared food. “So?”

“What would happen if we created a unicorn and set her loose in Central Park?”

Merlin laughed. “Chaos. It would be the Second Coming, the apocalypse, and End Times all at once.”

“The world is a depressing place. Why not give people something wonderful to talk about?”

“Not a good idea. The first thing they’d do is fight over who owns it. Then they’d attribute its presence to some non-existent deity, after which they’d take blood and body samples to determine how it got its horn. The poor beast would be paraded throughout the world, and when it wasn’t on show, locked up somewhere ‘for her safety.'” He sipped orange juice. “I would not see her suffer so.”

“But you could dream the unicorn as a symbol of hope. Everyone who saw her would work toward creating a brighter future.”

Over the centuries, he’d dreamed wonderful things into existence: dolphins, Mt. Everest, diamonds, vacations, running shoes, rainbows… the list was endless. Yet everything they’d come up with to make humans happier had been used and abused and eventually broken. It made him sad. The species was defective. They seemed incapable of making positive decisions, even when faced with dire circumstances.

He pushed the plate away. “I don’t want to dream anymore. I don’t like the way my gifts are treated. No unicorn.” He stood. “I will never give them a unicorn.” He gave her a stern look. “Promise me you will never let me dream of one.”

After a long, tense moment, she finally nodded. “No unicorns.”

“I mean it. If you make me dream one into existence, I will immediately undream it. Do you understand?” He rarely took such a strong position, but he felt it was necessary in this case.

Scowling, she buttered a piece of toast. “I get it. No unicorn ever.” She bit and chewed and swallowed. “What should we give them instead? They are suffering greatly these days.”

“It’s their own fault,” he grumbled.

“Yes, yes,” she said impatiently. “We’ve discussed this a million times, but I really think they need something joyous in their lives.”

He’d given and given and given until he was nothing more than a dried up husk and still humans did not learn or grow or progress. Frowning, he marched from the room and out into the garden.

I’m done. You get nothing more from me. Tonight, I dream my death, and happy I will be to return to the stars.

Dear people of Planet Earth: you are on your own. 

______

Genre: fantasy
Word count: 494
Find more flash fics here.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: Why There Are No Unicorns

  1. Patricia says:

    Wow, grim tale. I like the shocking core of it. I am a Merlin fan. I think your take on this flash fiction is brilliant.

    • Thanks! When I started it, I had only the vaguest idea where I wanted to go, and then this morning it suddenly coalesced… probably after all the bad news I’ve been reading lately. *sigh*

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Ouch. Sad. Unfortunately relevant, at least to those who get sucked into network news. Today I’m fretting about a friend who is exquisitely talented yet avoids support & is resistant to investing in his own success. He might see the unicorn & admire it, but then turn his back & walk away. So sad to watch in someone I care about. Looking at the world, he clearly isn’t alone.

    • It’s hard to avoid the news, it’s so outrageous, and then you just get depressed. I really would like to go to an island and avoid all this idiocy, because I have a terrible feeling it’s only going to get worse.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Brilliant ‘take’ on this week’s flash picture! I think you’re missing your calling – you write amazing supernatural stuff.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    This flash is so very you, and so very relevant. I don’t think it could have been written by anyone else. I love that it made me think, frown and smile all at the same time.

  5. diannegray says:

    Great story and so relevant to what is happening across the planet. I read the other day that last male white rhino in existence is now under 24 hour guard. So frikken sad and angry that the species is certain to be extinct within a matter of months. 😦 No wonder Merlin made this choice…

    • I hope they’ve taken some of its DNA, because once it dies, it’s gone. 😦

      Sixty-two elephants have been poisoned in the Zimbabwe Reserve. As climate change progresses, it seems humans have become crazier, as if they are rushing toward their own destruction. You only have to look at the GOP presidential candidates in the US to know this is true. Insanity rules, and it’s terrifying.

Leave a Reply

