Grateful Every Day!

Climate change is doing some nasty things around the world. For instance, here in the US, California is suffering through a long, nasty drought which is hurting millions. In 2013, Australia suffered a killing heat wave. Then there was the frigid temps of the polar vortex in the upper Midwest that same year; that’s what finally made me decide to move.

Here in south Florida, we just went through a hotter, more humid summer than usual. I spent a lot of time inside with the air conditioner. I got a little tired of it, but I never once wished I was still up north. They are enjoying fall now, with the attendant cooler temps and turning leaves, but in two or three weeks, it will beΒ cold and winter will set in and stay until next May. The hell with that!

I’m grateful every day I live in Florida. πŸ™‚ It’s fall here, too, and yesterday I rode the scooter to the store to pick up food for Suki. It was nine in the morning. I was wearing shorts and a T-shirt, and there was the slightest bite in the air. That’s how we know it’s fall. On the coldest days in January, I’ll only need my heavy hoodie.

Suki and I visited the lake house earlier this week. R and I sat in the lanai and killed a bottle of wine, watching the sun set. I took this pic of Suki in the lanai. R has done some wonderful landscaping work on the house since he returned from his trip to Wisconsin. I’ll have to take a pic of the front of the house; it’s gorgeous.Β Suki at Lake House sm 10.11.15

“Our” island in the last of the sun. There’s another off to the left, but it’s always in shade and not so much fun to take pics of.Β Island at Lake House sm 10.11.15

After sunset, with the last of the color in the sky and the lights coming on all over the lake.Sunset Lake House sm 10.11,15

And in case you missed my Facebook posts of the ‘gator in our canal and lake, here’s a shot of him.Β Gator 3 sm 10.13.15

Have a terrific weekend! I know I will. πŸ™‚

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Grateful Every Day!

  1. suze294 says:

    Love the island photo!

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Always love when you treat us with pictures – especially of Suki. πŸ˜€ I’m so happy you’re happy. That last winter you spent in MN was just beyond horrible. I don’t blame you for not missing it. I will even agree to not complain if you gloat your way through another winter – you earned that right. I’ll even give you your first opportunity: They’re predicting snow for us this weekend here in northeast OH. Okay…go ahead…

    • Okay, I admit I laughed maniacally when I read you might get snow, and then I felt sad for you. Too early! Way too early.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        Actually, this is pretty much right on time for the first sighting. Accumulation is another story – that better not happen yet.

        • The Twin Cities generally gets their first snow in the latter half of October, too, usually right in time for Halloween.

          • Jaycee Edward says:

            I remember when I first met my now-hubs, we went on a train ride through the Cuyahoga Valley National Park on Sweetest Day. I was getting off the train at one of the stops, the conductor handed me a rose and it the first flakes of the year started floating down. It was October 16th. (ie: 34 years ago today) πŸ™‚

          • Sounds like there’s a story there.

  3. Helena Stone says:

    As always your photos are breathtaking. I don’t think I could ever get tired of looking at them, so thank you very much for sharing.

    As for the weather. It’s been remarkably dry here in Ireland for the past two weeks or so. Of course clear skies at this time of year mean cold nights and misty mornings, but I take that over rain any day. Long may it last, although I wouldn’t complain if we could get a little bit of heat too πŸ™‚

    • There is fog off the canal in the morning because temps are finally dropping into the 70s at night. I leave the windows and french doors open now to take advantage of that cooler air. Temps during the day are in the 80s. Humidity is still up, somewhere between 67-72, but that softens the air, making it feel like silk against your skin. No rain for the last week. I’m watering the outdoor plants daily again. This really is the best time of year. I’m not surprised everyone up north comes down here during the winter.

  4. Allison says:

    Gorgeous photos! I love the sunset, the colors are amazing. Of course, my favorite is Suki though, she’s irresistible.

    We have been overcast, and it actually drizzled a few times today. I’d feel a little cheated if I didn’t know how important the rain is out here. πŸ™‚

    • I may grumble from time to time about rain, but my heart’s not in it because I know how important it is here, too. Without rain, we have no water. And we get plenty of sun otherwise, so yeah, not gonna complain. Our rainy season is about to end, and there will be long months with no rain at all. Plants and trees go into survival mode, losing that lush green look. It makes for a wonderful winter, but I’m always glad to see the thunderstorms return in June.

  5. diannegray says:

    These pictures are fantastic. I love the capture of the water mirroring the trees (and of course, I always love seeing Suki) πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

