Friday Photos

I’ve taken some recently, and yesterday, I had a chance to process a few of them. Let’s start with the pretty. This is my pink and white bougainvillea. It’s growing in the courtyard, and this is the second time it’s bloomed this year. This was cropped down from the original because the detail is worth looking at it. You know how to do that, right? Clickety-click. Pink Bougainvillia crop 10.5.15

I let out Suki one morning and spotted this heron only a few yards away. He was grooming himself; if you look closely, you can see a feather in his beak. I knew it wasn’t a cattle egret, but I had to look it up to confirm: this is a juvenile Little Blue Heron. The green legs and yellow at the base of the bill identify it. The top of his head is just starting to get a little blue.Juvenile Little Blue 10.5.15Juvenile Little Blue 2 10.5.15

Speaking of Suki, she’s been hiding under the footstool under my desk lately. Her demon eyes showed up, thanks to the flash, and instead of fixing it, I left them and desaturated the rest. Makes for an interesting portrait, don’t you think? 🙂 Suki under the footstool sm 9.24.15

Have a great weekend! I have some editing to do, but I’d also like to get out with the camera. We’ll see how it goes.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. What a treat to find these this morning! Just what I needed. Thanks for ‘making me’ click on the pic of the flowers. The detail is stunning. Might have to make that my desktop background. It would be much cheerier than the stormy, gray, sky I currently have. The heron is beautiful and Suki….awwwwwww! What a great little den for her! Looks like there’s fire in her eyes! Very cool. 😀

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Gorgeous! That glorious color of the bougainvillea! The grace of the heron! I love that in the picture of Suki everything is of a similar – tone?- except those glowing eyes.

  3. Helena Stone says:

    As always, your photos are breathtaking. Those Bougainvillea leaves are almost transparent. Wonderful. I adore that picture of Suki. All sweet and cuddly and then those eyes. Love it.

  4. diannegray says:

    I just love the colour on your photos. The blue of the water and the bougainvillea are great. Suki looks very cute hiding under the footstool and I love those red eyes! 😀

  5. Allison says:

    Beautiful! Suki’s picture is perfect for spooky Halloween October. 🙂

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful pictures (as usual)! The details on the bougainvillea are lovely. I’m not familiar with that plant.

    • It grows everywhere in Florida. The most common color of the leaves (they’re not flowers, they are leaves) is red. They eventually grow into a tree with a fairly thick trunk.

      I think a jasmine bush is next on my wish list; they smell wonderful!

Leave a Reply

