Friday Photos: bird, dragonflies, cat, and dogs

As I type this, it’s Thursday afternoon. The final galley edit of The Flamboyant Flamingo is complete, and I’m currently working on the blurb. You know how much I love those. /sarcasm

The book should be out this weekend. I can’t think of one reason why it wouldn’t be. 🙂

And now for photos!

Two days after I spotted the Everglades Snail Kite along a canal not far from me, I saw him again. Beautiful bird. No snail in his claw this time, but some nice detail.Snail Kite 8.26.15 smSnail Kite 2 8.26.15 sm

I saw old photo folders on a jump drive and found a few worth processing. These were all taken in 2008. I lived in Wisconsin then. Had my own house and yard, and commuted an hour into MN every day for work. Loved living in the country, hated that long drive when the weather was bad, which was most of the time between November and May. Winter! Ugh.

This was a friend’s cat. His name was Fred, and he was a bully. He’s dead now, and I for one won’t miss him. Pretty though, right? Fred 12.26.08 sm

Male rose-breasted grosbeak, taken on a friend’s property. I wasn’t very close, but I still like the shot; the coloring of these birds is so vivid.Male Grosbeak 6.6.08

Suki giving her friend, Cody, the eye. They weren’t close, but they did hang out when they were in the same place at the same time. Cody is dead now, too. So much change in only seven years. 😦 Suki and Cody 12.25.08 sm

This pic was taken at a friend’s pond. I think I shot two or three hundred photos that day, it was so wonderful. Great weather, great light, and the dragonflies going at it despite me watching. 🙂 Mating Dragonflies 6.6.08

Hope you have a great weekend! See you Monday.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Photos: bird, dragonflies, cat, and dogs

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love the one of Suki! Dragonflies seem to mate a lot when you’re around. Just sayin’.

  2. Allison says:

    Beautiful pictures, as always! Suki is my favorite, of course, but they are all wonderful. I love how Fred looks ready to spring!

  3. W. Lotus says:

    And how is Little Miss Suki?

    • She’s fine. Just took her out in the courtyard to trim her nails and the long hair around her paws. She doesn’t like it, but she’s so accommodating, she doesn’t fight me at all. Afterward, she runs around in joy, smiling that it’s over… until the next time.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Great pictures, as always.
    I love the way in which Suki and Cody are eyeing each other, as if they’re not quite sure the other can be trusted.
    Have a great weekend a good luck with the release 🙂

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful pictures! I had a male rose-breasted grosbeak at my feeder once. They spend the spring/summer in my neck of the woods, though I haven’t seen one in many years.

Leave a Reply

