The Flamboyant Flamingo: Cover Reveal

Alt Cover Ruthie font 800x1250

As some of you know, I recently acquired a Photoshop action that blew me away, it was so cool, but it wasn’t until Jaycee Edward urged me to try it on a flamingo that I saw the possibilities. I already had the bird, and I’d already removed the background, so it was a simple enough matter to apply the action, adjust the layers until I had what I wanted, and add the text.

I did this after spending three days assembling a different cover, using the same flamingo and a couple photos I’d taken in the area. Just for fun, here’s a look at that one so you can see how different they are. FF cover 300x500

This one was never finalized, because once I created the flamingo cover, that was it! There was no contest between them. I instantly fell in love with the gaudy purple-and-pink flamingo cover. 🙂

But even then, there were questions to be answered and decisions to be made. Heh. Book covers are never cut and dried. They are always a work in progress, and I wouldn’t have known I preferred the gaudy cover if I hadn’t done the plainer one first, and I wouldn’t have been able to do the gaudy cover if I hadn’t been searching for a grunge font online. I needed grunge for the word Resort on the sign. It had to look chipped and weathered and old. The creative process always amazes me, because it is almost never a straight road from beginning to end but rather a meandering path with pitfalls and dead ends.

The biggest discussion was about fonts. In the end, I think the correct choice was made (and I thank those of you who provided input!).

I’m currently waiting for all the beta copies to return, after which final edits will be made and the book published. Hopefully it will be out by the end of the month. In the meantime, I’ve already started work on the new WIP.

Have a great weekend! See you Monday.

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Flamboyant Flamingo: Cover Reveal

  1. It looks fantastic!!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    I hadn’t seen that ‘first’ cover and can only agree. The final cover is far more eye-catching, or, fabulous 🙂

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    It’s sooooo gorgeous!! I honestly didn’t think there’d be a cover I loved more than Wolf Bound, but this one is phenomenal. I want it on a t-shirt.

  4. vonn892013 says:

    This is the best cover I’ve seen in ages. How could anyone resist reading it? I love it.

  5. Allison says:

    You already know I love it. 🙂 It’s so eye-catching, it better end up on one of those GR Best Cover lists!

    • Well, the one Jaycee wanted to submit it to only accepts covers from a title originally published in 2015. This is an updated rewrite of a work published a few years back, so it’s not eligible.

  6. suze294 says:

    It’s great! I love the story amd this is a great new cover – have to get the new version too!!

  7. AnnAlaskan says:

    The two covers tell two very different stories in themselves. Can’t wait to see which interior matches the exterior! All part of the enjoyment of the whole work of art. Nothing makes me madder … when the models don’t match the their descriptions or when it’s set by the ocean & the desert is the background! Who’s NOT reading the book? If the publisher did that to my labor of love .. I’d be so gone! It’s not fair to the reader or the author. Can’t wait to read this book!

  8. diannegray says:

    I think it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

