Photo Friday

I was busy this week, finishing up The Flamboyant Flamingo, so I didn’t have time to drive around to take new photos. We’ll revisit the river. More pics from the Caloosahatchee, and the osprey returns.

First, photo of the drawbridge over this part of the river. The post in the foreground needs a pelican or seagull sitting on it, don’t you think? Drawbridge 7.24.15 sm

Just up the hill from this dock is a closed real estate office. I wonder if employees or clients visited via the river? It’s a beautiful spot. I hope a new business moves in soon. Dock on Caloosahatchee 7.24.15 sm

I spotted a boat coming down the river and raced to the other side of the road to snap this pic. I remember wishing I’d been on the water that day. River Boat 7.24.15 sm.

The osprey, like the herons, has been gone a couple of months, but he’s back and looking very fine. 🙂 Osprey 8.4.15 sm

I spied this cicada at R’s this afternoon. Weird looking, right? cicada 8.13.15

Remember, you can view any of the pics larger by clicking on them.

Flamingo is with the betas now, and it’s time for me to put together the new cover.

Monday, there will be a new flash fic! Yup, I finally wrote one. Heh. See you then.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo Friday

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I have a total love/hate relationship with cicadas. The sound of them remind me of hot, lazy days by the pool, but also the last days of summer. I shudder when I see them up close, yet, they’re so hideous they fascinate me. That pic is phenomenal. Wonder what the three red things on its head are?

    • R informs me this is a hieroglyphic cicada, which is different from the ones I’m used to seeing/hearing up north. Click here for more information and to listen to their song, which is quite pleasant.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        It’s actually them ‘shaking their tail’ that makes the noise. Kind of like a rattlesnake. Just learned that the other day!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    I’m fairly sure we don’t have cicadas here so that picture would be my first encounter with one. Weird was not the first word in my mind when I saw the picture, eew would be closer but I can’t deny it’s kinda fascinating, as Jaycee said.

    Looking forward to your flash fiction. Since I haven’t even thought about mine yet it’s good to know there’ll be at least one story up come Monday.

    Looking forward the Flamboyant Flamingo even more and since I’ll be starting on that this Sunday I think we all know whose fault it is if I don’t have a flash fiction ready come Monday 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    Okay, the cicada was like a smack! I’m all scrolling down … oh. what pretty water, that’s a nice picture, hmm … and then BUG! Huge BUG! LOL Cicadas don’t bother me much although one year my SIL had so many on their patio they had to bag them up because you couldn’t walk outside that was too much for me.

    Yay, FF reading this weekend! 🙂

    • I’d never seen this version before and couldn’t identify it. I asked R what it was. Not the prettiest bug, but I love the markings and did you notice the wings? Beautiful.

  4. Allison says:

    The wings are beautiful.

  5. diannegray says:

    Congratulations on finishing up Flamingo. I hope you get some really helpful feedback from your betas 😀 I love the cicada. I remember collecting their empty shells as a child, they’re like aliens! 😉

  6. A.M.B. says:

    That’s a great osprey picture! I really like the cicada too. The ones up here don’t look anything like that.

Leave a Reply

