Photo Monday

Once again, the inspiration pic for the flash fic didn’t do much for me. It should have! It was a terrific photo, but nothing popped into my head. This might possibly be due to me working on The Flamboyant Flamingo the last few days. I’m past the halfway point, and I’m not just editing, I’m also adding scenes. I hope to finish in the next couple of weeks.

I’ve also been driving around the area a little, searching for background for the new cover. Crossed the Caloosahatchee River, found a parking spot, and took some photos. Lilypads are always nice, even when they aren’t flowering. Lilypads and border 7.24.15 sm

Here’s a shot of the river. Dead Treet Caloosahatchee 7.24.15 sm

On my way home, I took a road new to me and spotted some wonderful trees, dripping with Spanish moss. Spanish Moss 7.24.15 sm

In a different part of that same area was a dead tree. I like looking at them. So spare, even regal. I didn’t realize until I downloaded the pictures how crooked this one was. Was I standing on a hill or what? 🙂 Dead Tree 7.24.15 sm

I spotted this on a back road and laughed. The juxtaposition of the No Trespassing message with the Welcome sign struck me as funny. Should I expect a smile and a hug or a rifle pointed at me? 😉 No Welcome 7.24.15 sm

And finally, this photo taken in my backyard. Looks like the herons are here again. I’ve missed them these last two or three months. This is the tricolor. Tricolor Male 8.4.15 sm

A beautiful, striking bird. Notice the red eye. This photo, and the one of the dead tree, were treated to the Orton Effect. The heron (and tree) were masked back in at full sharpness while the background remains slightly blurred.

Have a great week! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo Monday

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Hmmm. You spotting the heron makes me wonder if ours have left?

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures, as I’ve come to expect from you!

    For the first time in ages (ever?) I haven’t got a flash either. Yesterday was just too busy to do any writing and nothing came to me earlier in the week. Oh well, hopefully we’ll find a picture that will inspire one or two stories for next week 🙂

    • Brigham wrote a nice little piece to go with that picture. 🙂

      My mind is on Islamorada in the WIP, though; hard for me to think of other things at the moment. I’ve also begun thinking about the next book again. I do enjoy writing flash fics, however. I may force myself next week, just to keep my hand in. 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    I love the second shot of the mossy trees! It definitely looks like something you could play with and do lots of things if you wanted to make it scary or something.

    I’ve always loved dead trees too. They are stark but beautiful it’s interesting to see their structure instead of all the decoration.

    • Spanish moss isn’t as prevalent here as it is in, say, New Orleans. Too bad! I think it’s rather pretty the way is drapes the branches. However, too much of it can break those branches or slow tree growth. As usual, everything in moderation. 🙂

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Yes, lilypads are always nice. Great photographs! Have a wonderful week.

  5. diannegray says:

    These photos are great. I love the Orton Effect – very well done indeed 😀

Leave a Reply

