Half Moon House Update

All the beta copies came in, and I’ve been going over them and doing some rewrites. Because I wrote this one over about eight months, it was more disjointed than my usual manuscripts. The readers did a terrific job of spotlighting weirdness.

After I finish this initial cleanup, it’s going back to one of the betas for yet another read-through.

I didn’t do a flash fic this week. The picture was really cute, but it didn’t lend itself to anything other than romance in my eyes. If I’d had the time, I would have thought about it awhile and probably come up with something different, but when I wasn’t editing, I was reading.

As some of you know, I’ve been on a Cory Doctorow kick lately after discovering Little Brother.  I followed that up with a free short and a cheap novella, but they didn’t grab me. Homeland, the sequel to Little Brother did, though, and I raced through that one, too.

Then I picked up Makers, which is nearly six hundred pages long. I settled into it fairly quickly and then I couldn’t put it down. I had to take breaks to charge up the kindle, during which I watched movies, but otherwise, I read for two-and-a-half days straight, giving myself a reading hangover. When you live alone, you can do things like that and no one thinks you’re crazy. 😉 

You know what I mean, right? You can’t stop even though your eyes are tired and your brain is exhausted. And when you finish, you can’t sleep even though you really want to. I wrapped up just after midnight and was awake until two.

This one was written in 2009, and it’s more adult than the other two, which are definitely geared toward teens. I liked the writing style in Makers better than the YA books, but the latter also kept me reading until the wee hours.

It’s been awhile since I got my hands on books that wouldn’t let me put them down. When I find an author who can do that, I keep buying their stuff. 🙂 It’s a combination of writing style, story, and characters, and it’s a bitch getting all of them right at the same time. Doctorow isn’t perfect–no writer is; I thought Homeland’s ending was a little weak (the villain just goes away, eh? Uh, no), but I was invested by then and wanted to see how it ended for Marcus. Still glad I read it.

Next up is an old book by Larry Niven named Dream Park (this will by fourth or fifth time through), and then For the Win, another YA book from Doctorow. And then maybe the one about Disney World. 🙂 Sounds kind of fun. Speaking of which, in Makers, Disney World is the villain. I wonder how he got away with that? I mean, how do you badmouth a company that rich and not get your ass kicked? I’d be interested in your opinions.

Armada from Ernest Cline appears around the fourteenth! Very excited about this one. I loved Ready Player One so much I just read it a second time and enjoyed it as much as the first.

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL, suggestion. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Half Moon House Update

  1. Allison says:

    That sounds like a perfect few days! I have been craving a vacation that is nothing but ocean waves and books lately but that doesn’t seem likely to happen anytime soon unfortunately.

    I am surprised that Disney didn’t call him out, they follow things like that extremely closely and sue basically every time. Although maybe it’s more images that they do that with, understandably they are protective of their characters (which always makes me wonder about the artists that have sexed up their characters given how well-known they are).

    I’m curious, is the “Disney book” from the Kingdom Keeper series? I only read the first one and found I mostly enjoyed it because I knew all the places mentioned,etc. Not that it wasn’t well written but I remember it having a young voice that didn’t catch me.

    • It’s also by Cory D: Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom. Don’t really know what it’s about, but I love the title. 🙂

      It’s mentioned several times in Makers that Disney is known for suing others. For all we know, they did go after this author. Heh.

      • Allison says:

        I’ll have to look that up, sounds interesting.

        Heh, they don’t lose so I’m guessing, for whatever reason, they didn’t in this case. 🙂

  2. Edit update: I’ve gone through all three betas, made the changes, done some rewriting, and have sent it back to Allison for a final beta. With luck, this should be out next week. I’m excited!

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    I looked up Doctorow on Goodreads and noted your favs as books I want to read. Apparently the Disney one is set in a futuristic world where Disney world is kept almost like a museum and now someone is messing with it, shifting the animatronic presidents hall to something like virtual reality. It was only a brief description but didn’t sound like something Disney would go after.
    I’m immersed in a non-fiction, Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari.
    “Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power … and our future. ” Yep. Plus it’s a very readable style. I’m about 1/3 the way through and find I’m not exactly rooting for our species. :-}

    • LOL “I’m not exactly rooting for our species.”

      Given our unwillingness to address climate change while we continue to pollute our planet, I’m guessing we lose in the end. Serves us right but being so greedy and self-centered.

      I feel I have to give you a warning about Little Brother and its sequel. They are very much written in kid language and assume you know a little something about computers. I don’t think you’ll have a problem. I suggest you start with the more accessible Makers, though.

      I’m well into Dream Park today, and after dealing with a few other things, plan to settle in with the book the rest of the day. I’ve really been on a reading binge of late, and I love it!

  4. Glad you’ve found something awesome to read. Just since I’ve started writing, it’s become harder to enjoy reading. Certain writing traits jump out at me now – and they never did before. I can’t even imagine being you. LOL. It must be a true joy to find an entire series of books that are not only well written but something you actually want to read!

  5. Helena Stone says:

    I can’t wait for you to be finished with Half Moon House so I can read it again and see what changed 🙂 As for reading binges, I love those even if they do appear to few and far between thee days. Enjoy.

  6. diannegray says:

    I rarely find a book I can fly through these days. So it’s such a great feeling when I do. I think writing clouds my vision slightly and I tend to concentrate on anything other than the actual story. If I keep going like this I’m going to have to learn to read all over again soon! 😀

    • For a long time, I couldn’t read most fiction. All I saw were editing errors. It made me weep!

      Now, I concentrate on story and character above all else. Minor editing problems I can handle. Hell, I’m sure there are a few in my books, too. It’s only when I keep stumbling over and over repetition, typos, and other common stuff that I want to bang my head against the wall.

  7. R. Mendonca says:

    LOL.
    My husband gets so mad at me because I can sit and read ALL day. He’s not a reader, nor can he sit for long periods of time. It’s really hard to go to work when you ‘can’t put a book down’ or when one of the cats wants to cuddle.

  8. A.M.B. says:

    Good luck with the rewriting! It sounds like you have very good beta readers (who aren’t easy to find).

Leave a Reply

