Off to a Slow Start

The last couple weeks, I’ve been doing a lot of editing. Wednesday, I was close enough to finishing a job that I pushed really, really hard, doing something like eighty pages in one day.

Depending on the writing, eighty pages is either easy and done in seven or eight hours, or hard as hell. In this case, it was the latter, and I put in fourteen or fifteen hours getting those pages done.

The result? My mousing hand took one hell of a beating. The constant repetitive motion–squeezing, moving, clicking-clicking-clicking–did me in. That hand ached so badly, I pondered taking a painkiller. It was also noticeably swollen. In the end, I didn’t, not even Aleve or Tylenol, and I suffered.

I took Thursday off, spending very little time online. In the afternoon, I thought I’d wrap up a hidden mystery game I’m *this close* to finishing, but nope! The hand couldn’t take even that much mouse abuse.Β 

I read all day, and then I watched TV that evening.

This morning, the hand felt better. It still aches when I’m online too much at one time, but I can tell it’s getting better. Another day or two away from the computer should fix me right up.

In case you missed it, I spotted an alligator in the canal a couple days ago. Bad light, but I kind of like how the pics taken in shore reflections turned out.Β Gator 4 6.29.15 sm Gator 3 6.29.15 sm

This is the best one of him looking like a ‘gator. πŸ™‚ He was a baby about four feet long (two years old). I wonder if he’s still around? There are two islands on the lake, and plenty of fish and ducklings to eat. πŸ˜‰Β Gator 1 6.29.15

We’re in rainy season in Florida, and that means storms moving in every afternoon or early evening. They don’t last long–and hour or two at most, usually–but it does give a photographer a chance to shoot some great moody skies.Before the Storm 6.14.15 sm

That same afternoon, I spotted a tricolor heron stalking fish in the long grass along the lake. Difficult pic to take; the camera wasn’t sure if I was focusing on the grass or the bird. I got only one good photo from that series, and this is it.Β Tricolor in Grass 6.14.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Off to a Slow Start

  1. I know what you mean about the mouse hand. For me it isn’t just the hand, it’s my right shoulder also.

    I remember when I took my girls to Florida around this time in 1984. It rained every day. Just as we got on a car ride at Disney World, the skies opened. I was in the car with my 8-year-old. She had to steer because I closed my eyes to keep my contacts in.

  2. Not good, Fen. Can you possibly use something instead of a mouse? I use a trackpad. (Not a trackball – I hate those). It took just a little getting used to, but it’s actually very intuitive and now I love it! I prefer it over the mouse 100%. Even using that, if I’m on here too much, I start to feel it in my shoulder.

  3. A.M.B. says:

    I hope your hand is better! I have chronic pain in both my hand and my back from how much time I spend on the computer. My work is the culprit, but blogging doesn’t help.

    • Sitting all day at a computer is not healthy. I’ve already discovered this. I suffer from a weak lower back, femoral nerve pain on the right side (ouch!), and at times, the mouse-hand problem.

      I’ve noticed, when I play a strenuous computer game involving the mouse, my fingers/hand will actually cramp painfully and stiffen if I don’t take regular breaks.

      My advice to everyone: stand and move more, even if your job requires lots of computer work. If you don’t take care of your body when you’re young, it will betray you when you get older. 😦 I was super active up until my fifties, and it didn’t freaking help! Now I’m in my sixties, and my body fights me regularly. Boo hiss.

      • A.M.B. says:

        I’ve recently started standing at work. It forces me to move around more, while helps. I still have to sit down to do any heavy-duty writing there, but I stand while dealing with email, reading, or writing lighter memos.

        • I rigged up a way to stand while at the computer, and I do that several times a day. If I’m writing and stuck, I’ll also pace the condo while I think. We’re in the summer season in Florida, and that means it’s steamy hot almost all the time, and that means I don’t get outside to walk that often right now. Gotta come up with acceptable alternatives!

  4. Allison says:

    Sorry to hear about your hand but glad it’s healing up. I have problems with my shoulder in my mouse hand and no matter what I do sometimes the only thing that helps is not being on the computer.

    Cool shots of the alligator! That has to be amazing and a little concerning. πŸ˜€

  5. diannegray says:

    This injury is a result of true dedication to your art. I hope it’s feeling better soon and you can get back to it. I love your photos – that alligator almost looks like it’s made of crystal in that light. Well done! πŸ™‚

  6. Patricia says:

    I sometimes switch off to my left hand to use the mouse. In my sixties and lucky so far (knock on wood) no carpel tunnel. Just lucky. I’ve been a typist of one sort or another since teen years. Now I hate those track pads and track balls.

Leave a Reply

