No Flash Fic But Some Pics

I worked all weekend. Had to catch up from the day off Friday, celebrating national marriage equality! What a wonderful occasion, eh?

But I never got around to writing the flash fiction. I do have a few photos for you though.

Last weekend, I was at R’s lake house. A storm was moving in, but the sun was still shining where I was. The dead tree in his backyard looked particularly striking, so bright against the dark clouds behind it.

I took the camera outside and snapped a few shots. Storm moving in 6.19.15 sm

Less than thirty seconds later, a green heron flew in and perched near the top of that tree. I was fortunate to get several pictures of this pretty bird. Here, his green back is clearly seen. The lighting was damn near perfect, and I was close enough to get quite a lot of detail. As always, clicking on the photo takes you to the uploaded size. Green Heron 6.19.15 sm

A few days ago, Suki was laying on the back of the couch while I worked at the computer nearby. We were in the living room, which is dark much of the day unless I open the front door. It’s been hot and humid enough I only do that in the morning these days. Once the sun hits the courtyard, the heat sets off the a/c too often.

I used a flash, and it bounced off her pupils in such an interesting way, I left them alone. Normally, I would turn them their usual black in Photoshop, but look at the colors! I’ve seen plenty of red eye, but this is like looking at a psychedelic party in her eyes.

I applied the Venice Painting filter to this photo; it gives it that rich, soft look. Suki 6.20.15 sm

One of the beta copies of Half Moon House has come back. I’ve decided to finish the current edit before I turn to that, though, and perhaps the other two betas will be back by then, and I can do them all at once. Release day is creeping closer!

Have a terrific Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No Flash Fic But Some Pics

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    What kind of tree? Looks like it still has fruit…? The heron’s feet look like pretzels. Ha. And what are you feeding that dog, weed-laced brownies? Yes, it definitely looks psychedelic!! My plans for the day were to run errands and then type up your beta notes but they got nixed by having a unexpected houseful of teenage girls and thunderstorms in the forecast so now they can’t swim, so I’ll probably end up taking them to a movie.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures, especially Suki, whose eyes are magical. So glad you didn’t tamper with that 🙂

  3. diannegray says:

    These are great shots. I love that bird sitting on the tree – sometimes trees near the end of life look so majestic in pictures. Suki’s eyes are amazing! This pic would have been great for my ‘eye post’. Brilliant 😀

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful pictures! I love the tree.

Leave a Reply

