Friday Photos

I’ve got a range of subjects for you this week.

The limpkin came back. That’s the bird that eats the apple snails from the canal. He’s doing a good thing; if not for him, the snails would be out of control. I heard him calling several times over a period of many days, searching for a mate. It’s quite the haunting cry. He found one, too. They’ve since sneaked off somewhere. 🙂 Limpkin 5.19.15 sm

The black vultures visited a couple days ago. It was raining and kind of dark when I started taking pictures, but the sun managed to come out, and this one spread its wings. They almost look lit up inside. Black Vulture 5.25.15 sm

The rest of these pics were taken at R’s place. The one with the pool, not the one on the lake. We’ll start with the frangipani flowers. They had just bloomed, and they were wet because I was watering. Frangipani flowers 5.15.15 sm

About a week ago, I shot photos of the sunset through the magnolia tree in his backyard. Yup, the time for dramatics skies has arrived once again. We get some amazing colors at dawn and day’s end. Setting Sun 5.17.15 sm

The last pics are of a dragonfly that insisted on following me around while I was on the patio. This is the first one I took of her. She was about two inches in length. Very small. She seems to be saying hello. Dragonfly Intro 5.25.15 sm

As I moved around, so did she. Get a load of the acrobatics! Dragonfly Acrobatics 5.25.15 sm

I included this last shot because it’s a clear view of her underside and the lighting was gorgeous. Look at the way the sun ripples along the edge of the wing and adds color to them. Dragonfly Rear View 5.25.15 sm

R says he’s starting home next week. We’ll see. In the meantime, I may get more wonderful photos at his place. Have a wonderful weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. Patricia says:

    I suddenly remembered childhood picture books of tiny fairies riding dragonflies. So beautiful!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    I’ve run out of new ways to say ‘gorgeous’ so I’ll just leave it at that: Gorgeous 🙂

  3. How many houses does R own? (Rhetorical question – don’t want an answer)
    Do you have to water at both? Because…grrrrr…
    OMG…the vulture one is amazing and looks like that “Daytime! Nighttime!” video! Bwahaha!
    Maybe dragonflies are your spirit animal. ;o)

    • They probably are. Everywhere I go, there they are. 🙂

      I do not have to water at both, though it’s been dry enough lately R is starting to worry about his plants over there. However, I simply don’t have time to run around to both places. If he’s concerned enough, he’ll get his butt home.

  4. Beautiful! I always love your photos.

  5. Wonderful photos, as always. I especially love that rainbow effect along the dragonfly’s wings, it’s almost like a string of colored lights. Like Christmas lights 🙂 The dramatic sunset one was amazing too. I like the way the color of the sky changes across the photo.

  6. Allison says:

    Frangipani look almost identical to plumeria! I adore plumeria.

    The sunset makes me think of savannah sunset shots, absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

