Friday Photos

I have a variety for you today, taken over the last two or three weeks.

Let’s start with a dragonfly. No matter how often I see them, I always want to take photos. Dragonfly 4.18.15 sm

This was taken at the lake house. I have no idea what the flowers are called, but they made a nice contrast to the water, and I liked their reflection in the lake. Flowers in the lake 4.18.15 sm

One of my favorite scooter routes takes me down 8th St and around a curve, where I see this property. I love these old trees! They’re glorious. Look at those wonderful branches.Eighth Street 4.17.15 sm

We revisit grasshoppers this week. This one was rather large and may actually be a locust; I think I see wings. He was hanging on to the side of the house near the hose faucet. You can see he didn’t approve of my presence. They have such beautiful markings, don’t they?Grasshopper 5.12.15 sm

This is a new insect capture for me. It’s called a polka-dot wasp moth, and it flies during the day. I spied it sitting on the pool cage screen. Love the blue and red! Polka-Dot Wasp Moth 5.12.15 sm

And last, a pic of sleepy Suki. This was first thing in the morning, after she’d reluctantly crawled out from under the blankets. She likes to nap there after I get up. Sleepy Suki 5.8.15 sm

That’s it for this week. Have a great weekend.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. Reblogged this on Official Site of Emma Jameson, New York Times Bestselling Author and commented:
    Some great photos I had to share!

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    That tree is incredible! I love big, old, gnarly trees. I’m afraid I’d have killed that moth too. Ugh. Why are they made to look so much like “mean” insects, dammit??? Love when you end with pics of Suki. 😊

    • I didn’t think the moth looked mean. In fact, I didn’t know what it was, but I was drawn to its colors. Such a beauty!

      However, there is one area on the patio outside the pool cage that draws these big BIG wasps. I walk around and through them every day, and they haven’t bothered me yet. 🙂

  3. I have a phobia of bees and flying insects. I’m better than I used to be, but not much.

    • I figure, if I don’t bother them, they won’t bother me. Generally, that has held true all my life. The only time I get stung is when the creature’s been taken by surprise, and then I figure it was only defending itself and don’t take it personally. 😉

  4. Patricia says:

    That is an unusual colored insect that is either a grasshopper or locust. I will search for its name. I love the burnished metal flame colors.

  5. Helena Stone says:

    I’m very late to the party (or post if you wish) but couldn’t not have a look at the photos. As always they are gorgeous. Since I have a thing about trees the picture of those old trees was my favourite, closely followed by sleepy Suki – she’s too cute for words. Talking about trees, I’ll be sharing a few Dutch ones on FB today or tomorrow. And talking about things Dutch, there were quite a few times while in the Netherlands when I thought ‘oh to have Fen and his camera with me right now’.

    • I look forward to your posts. That’s a country I’ve always wanted to visit. Well, I’d like to see all of Great Britain and Europe, some of it a second time. It’s a shame the world has changed so much, such trips are no longer affordable for the average citizen. 😦

      • Helena Stone says:

        I know. The flight from Ireland to the Netherlands was quite reasonable (not to say cheapish) but if it hadn’t been for being able to stay with family, I wouldn’t have been able to afford to go.

Leave a Reply

