Photo Friday

Last night, I dumped a lot of pics from the camera to the desktop computer. I also found a couple of old shots that were worth processing.

This was taken at the end of March. Suki and I had gone for a quick drive somewhere–probably the lake house–and on the way back, I spotted this male egret on a dock in the lake. I remember it being really windy that day, but I could be wrong. I stopped at home to get the camera, then drove straight back. He was still there, waiting for me. They have the most beautiful plumage, and it was almost the death of them at one time. Ladies wanted it for their hats.ย Male Egret 3.26.15 sm

Mottled ducks, both male. The photo following is of the female some time later, after the eggs hatched. ๐Ÿ™‚ย Mottled Ducks smMottled Duck and babies 5.2.15 sm

This cardinal gave me quite the runaround this afternoon. It swooped in while I was watering plants. I ran inside for the camera, then stalked it all over the backyard. I finally got one–ONE–acceptable shot of it. I don’t know if it had a bad eye or it was just the angle.ย Cardinal 5.7.15 sm.

A grasshopper. Love the flowers he was clinging to, and his “etching” is gorgeous. Nature paints so beautifully. He looks like he’s covered in gold.ย Grasshopper 5.6.15 sm

And last, a garden spider. Hard to get a good shot of him, as he was suspended in the center of a web strung betweenย two tropical plants, one of which was the Spanish Bayonet. Those suckersย hurt if you brush them, so I wasn’t able to be picky about the angle.ย Garden Spider 5.6.15 sm

All of these can be clicked on to go to the uploaded size, where more detail is available. Busy weekend coming up: editing to do, and I also plan to write. I’m getting closer to the end of the WIP all the time. I’m thinking maybe about a week? Then my first edit, betas, another edit, and omg, I still don’t know what I want to use as a cover. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Photo Friday

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I’m so glad you’re rarely late with these beautiful pictures on a Friday. They really give me something to look forward to while I work and something to cheer me up during my lunch break. Today’s collection was no exception. I think the egret is my personal favourite but it was a hard choice.

    Very excited you’re so close to finishing your WIP. I’m always ready for more new words by you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • This one has taken too long, and I’m not even sure why. Too much work, I suppose. When I’m editing other people, it takes 100 percent concentration, and at the end of the day, even if it’s only five or six hours, I’m done. I have no energy left to write. I’d probably do better if I had a “regular” job. Heh.

  2. Allison says:

    Beautiful as always!

    The ducklings reminded me of something that you thought was possibly having babies in a drain pipe or something recently? I can’t remember what type of animal it was though. Did you ever see it again?

    Congratulations on moving along with the WIP!

    • River otters, and no, I haven’t seen them since. That’s a shame. I figured they’d found a place they considered safe, but I guess there’s too much activity for them. People do walk along the water wall a lot, and the drain ran right under the sidewalk.

  3. I always love seeing your nature shots; really makes me want to get more up close and personal with what’s around me.

    • Photography has taught me a lot about the natural world. I love nothing better than getting a macro shot of some small creature, because I know the picture will show me more than my eyes can see.

      That egret was halfway across the lake, and I couldn’t see any detail. I just liked the big white bird standing on the dock. It wasn’t until I looked at the photos that I saw it was a male egret.

      The sense of discovery I feel when I see freshly downloaded photos is a rush! I never quite know what I’ll get.

  4. Sara says:

    Love Your photos especially the egret. It looks so graceful. ๐Ÿ™‚ sorry to read that the otters aren’t there anymore.

  5. The cardinal’s eye does look messed up, doesnt’t it? We have tons of them here. Probably why it’s our state bird. The grasshopper pic doesn’t even look real. Ironically, though, it was the spider pic that fascinated me the most. Probably because I don’t get close to them in real life. Interesting to see how each foot is placed on the web.

    • Spiders fascinate me, they are so alien. I think they’re wonderful creations, so interesting. I mean, they shoot thread-like material out of their butts, and some of them make beautiful webs. This one, not so much, but his colors are gorgeous.

  6. Patricia says:

    I have to look up that blue flower your golden armored grasshopper is clinging to. You have such an eye for nature!

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Wow. That grasshopper picture is stunning–from the subject to the composition. That should be framed (or put in a calendar!).

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ I like it too. Ya know, I didn’t even notice the flowers when I took the pictures. I was too busy looking at the grasshopper.

      • A.M.B. says:

        It’s really a beautiful photograph. Have you ever entered any of your work into photo contests?

        • I once entered a beautiful pic of Suki… and was pestered for the next four years to buy the book they put it in, along with all the others they suckered into it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m sure there are legit contests out there, but I’m really too busy to go looking for them right now. And if I won, then what? Would it change my life? Probably not. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Kathi Lilly-Schell says:

    I really love viewing your new pictures every week. I love the momma duck and ducklings, but the grasshopper is stunning. Thanks so much for sharing them!

  9. Yvonne says:

    I can’t get enough of the grasshopper picture; those flowers are gorgeous. And good news on the WIP:-)

Leave a Reply

