Revisiting the Past

Revisiting the past is something a photographer can do pretty much anytime. Pictures are memories, and I have a lot of them.

I was going through some of my photos, recalling the circumstances and smiling.

One of my oldest pictures. It was taken with an Olympus. I was scootering along one of the scenic roads outside Hudson, WI, and spotted this fisherman from a bridge. I was taken by the myriad shades of green and him standing in the water smack in the middle of it. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next photo was taken at a friend’s pond. Well, he actually shared it with his neighbor, but we spent a lot of time there. That day, cottonseeds were floating in the air. It was so thick, it almost looked like snow. I filled the memory card and could still have taken more. This is one of my favorites from that session. 98401657.yZmyIF3s.DarnerPairpb6.7.08

Driving home from visiting my folks one Thanksgiving, I went north around Mille Lacs Lake. I usually went south, but I followed my gut, and I wasn’t sorry. Seeing this sky in the passenger sideview mirror, I pulled over and stopped. Notice the plate ice along the shore? A bit farther down, a young couple were wading into the water, holding hands, pushing through the ice, laughing at how beautiful it was. I’ve printed this twice, and both times, given it away. The next time I print it, I keep it. 🙂 94955664.DT6zoa9T

I once worked with someone who was into saving monarch butterflies. He offered to give me a chrysalis so I could see what happened. I hung it in the front porch of my house. It was green and had the most beautiful gold stripe around it about half an inch from the top. Only nature could create something that gorgeous.

Every day I’d come home and check to see if there were any changes. It started to open on a Saturday. I fetched my camera and sat there, taking pictures. After the butterfly’s wings had dried enough, I took it out to the backyard. It flew away shortly after that. Hard to believe something that large came out of a chrysalis that small. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favorite pics is this snake. My previous dog and I had gone down to the Mississippi River. We lived in Maiden Rock, WI, then. It’s a small town that is on one of the most gorgeous roads anywhere. Lots of water, bluffs, and wonderful little towns to visit. I used to do it on my scooter, but this time, I was in the car because of the dog. We were walking along the edge of the sand when the dog started dancing around in excitement. I heard a hiss and looked to my left. There was the snake, , half in and half out of the water, coiled and threatening to strike. I backed off, calling the dog to me, but I made sure to take a picture. 🙂 R later said it was probably a bull snake, so the hissing was only for show.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

R’s dog Star, when she was a pup. Something in the water fascinated her. This was up on his northern property many years ago. It has a creek running through the backyard. Over the years, the beavers have dammed it up; it looks different now than it once did. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Memories. I love reliving them once in a while. Reminds me where I’ve been, what I did, who I was with. These photos were culled from pictures I once posted at an online photobase. They are not high quality, and are smaller than those I usually post, but they were handy.

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Revisiting the Past

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I love looking back at the past through photographs. Mine are mostly stuck in albums but one of these days I’m going to find the courage and time needed to digitize them all. As always your pictures are stunning. I well believe you ended up giving away those prints of that wonderful ice/sky picture. If you do get a print again I’d chain it to the wall or something 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

    • I printed it out hi-rez, and in the water were touches of lavender. Really surprised me, as I hadn’t noticed it in the digital photo. The last one went to someone at a place I worked. It was matted and framed and everything. I don’t regret giving it to him (he was an artist in his spare time) but I miss looking up and seeing it on the wall.

  2. They’re all gorgeous, but the ice and sky photo is truly stunning.

  3. Don’t know if you’ve ever heard Matt Alber or not, but here’s his song about Monarch butterflies:

  4. Allison says:

    On FB it shows the picture of Star and then has your beginning sentence about the fisherman, I came here expecting that Star was the one fishing. 😀

    The dragonfly is my favorite of these although the beauty of the sky picture is immeasurable.

  5. These are all gorgeous. Love the reflection of the dragonflies, the ice picture is breathtaking, and Star reminds me fondly of Rocky, one of our best dogs.

  6. Patricia says:

    As a person who’s always loved gritty concrete cityscapes, your photographs are glimpses into a calmer world where I can rest.

  7. Lindsaysf says:

    Lovely. Just lovely. *sigh* Thanks.

Leave a Reply

