Lake Visitors

Photos today, and two are of creatures I haven’t seen before. We’ll start with one of my favorites, the tricolor heron. He’d just caught a tiny silver fish when I snapped the shot. The water is still moving from his blindingly fast poke of the beak. I’ve grown quite fond of this fellow; he’s been around a lot lately and lets me get quite close to him.

Tricolor Heron with fish 4.8.15 sm

Next, another favorite, the red skimmer dragonfly. I was able to get within four feet, and although it’s watching me, it didn’t fly away. I was able to take lots of pictures. Red dragonfly 4.8.15 sm

I like this photo so much, I’m making it the background on my desktop machine. Still life on lake. 🙂 Shells 4.8.15 sm

Across the lake, I noticed five vultures on the shore. These are different from the usual turkey vultures I see here. They’re called black vultures, and I think they look more regal than the others. The wingspread is impressive, and the first few feathers have creamy white tips. A pretty bird, and they fill an important function in our world, saving us from cleaning up smelly dead things. Black Vultures 4.8.15 sm

R and I were sitting outside talking when we both noticed two new birds float into view. This is a common moorhen, but I see nothing common about it. What a gorgeous bird! The beak and forehead are striking, that red so vivid, it almost looks like plastic. There were a pair of them, and I did get a couple pics of the male mounting the female; it’s spring. 🙂 Moorhen 1 4.8.15 sm

That’s it for this week. See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lake Visitors

  1. Allison says:

    The first three pictures are amazing (not that they other two aren’t, I just like the first three more).

    Have a great weekend now that you are done with all your computer work, at least I hope you are!

    • I’m finished except for moving my photo collection onto the computer. I can do that gradually, though. But it does need to be done. I just ordered another 1T external drive. Thanks to media (pics, movies), I never have enough room anymore.

  2. Patricia says:

    The shadow rippling in the water under the black vultures….Mmmm. Story?

  3. Helena Stone says:

    As always you’re pictures capture me and take me out of my own life for a few short but wonderful moments. I love the still life and I have a thing about water pictures, especially when the water is moving. Thank you for continuing to share all this beauty with us.

  4. Patricia says:

    All of today’s pictures are extraordinary. I have never seen a red dragonfly but will be looking for one now. But your pictures of Up North are nostalgic for me. Keep both.

  5. These are incredible pics! Love the dragonfly!! Never see red ones here – only blue. And the duck? His beak looks like a superhero duck in a nosedive. See it???

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful photos! The colors are stunning.

Leave a Reply

