Photos: Canal Life

I got up with every intention of working hard all day. Instead, R took me on a tour of Goodwill stores in the area, looking for stuff for his lake house. Suki went along, and I took her inside each store to avoid the heat. She got petted and cooed over quite a lot.

When I finally returned home at mid-afternoon, I noticed activity on the water. Grabbing the camera, I went out and took some photos.

The American Coot is new to the canal, having arrived only a couple days ago. This is not a duck. It belongs to its own order. Notice the red eye, and in this photo, it’s eating greens from the water. You get a better view of that eye in the second shot. That white beak and red eye give it a special flair. Am Coot 4.1.15 sm

Am Coot 2 4.1.15 smThe Green Heron was back, too, and like most birds, took to sitting in the dead tree across from me. Green Heron 4.1.15 sm

First time I saw him, he was right outside my windows, but when I opened the door, he fled. I wish I could shoot from inside, but the screens make that impossible.

Last, one of the turtles was sunbathing in the rocks. I wonder if sticking out that back leg has significance? 🙂 Sunbathing Turtle 4.1.15 smAnd now I must get some work done.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Photos: Canal Life

  1. Oh! I just saw a whole big thing about coots from my friend whose pics I steal sometimes. I meant to show you. Totally blows the “If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck…” theory out of the water, doesn’t it?

    • Never assume, as they say. 🙂 Part of the fun of photography is finding out about things that are new to me, like this coot. I saw one in Celebration, when Allison, Kevin, and I got together, but those pics didn’t turn out nearly so well; the bird was in the shade.

  2. Allison says:

    Ahh, the joys of vacation and letting things take you where they may. 😀

    Of course Suki got petted and cooed over, she is a darling.

    The red eye and white beak do make the bird stand out!

  3. Blackpearl says:

    Beautiful photos. Thank you. I love viewing your photos. Would love to see another one of Suki again. I have a very pretty, very indulged maltese cross chihuahu (who is a bit of a naughty britches) who gets cooed over whenever he goes out.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    The American Coot is such a beautiful bird. It’s kind of creepy too. Great pictures!

    • Hm, creepy? I don’t see that. Is it because it’s mostly black?

      He’s back on the canal today. I don’t know why, but I often think about how easy it is for some creatures to get food, whereas humans spend their entire lives, busting their butts to put food on the table. Seems there should be an easier way, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

