Lizards and Anoles

Florida is known for these little creatures. They dart around, eat ants, scurry through grass and brush, and mate a lot. Some are native, many aren’t. When they get in the house–and they always do–we leave them alone for a few days, then move them back out. They’re friendly, eat ants and other insects, and are no trouble at all.

I was at R’s house Sunday afternoon with the camera, and I noticed a bunch of them in one corner of the house. I grabbed a chair, sat, and started shooting. Remember, you can always click on the photos to see them full-sized.

This fellow was very active. I soon figured out why.Β Lizard 1 3.15.15 sm

He was trying to impress the ladies in the area with his prowess as a potential mate. They puff out a sack under their neck when they want to attract a female. Often this is accompanied by an up and down motion that makes them look like they’re doing push-ups.Β Lizard 5 3.15.15 sm

I think these lizards and anoles (difficult to tell one from the other, and here, I won’t bother) are beautiful and interesting. Their coloring varies, one to the other.Β Lizard 6 3.15.15 sm

Lizard 7 3.15.15 crop sm

Lizard 8 3.15.15 crop

The last shots I got were of these two, perched on a rusty bird bath stand. As you can see, he hadn’t given up yet. I’m not sure if the lady above him finally capitulated or not. The sprinklers came on, and we all ran. πŸ™‚Β Lizards 9 and 10 3.15.15 sm

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lizards and Anoles

  1. Allison says:

    I miss them from when we were in Atlanta, they are fun to watch.

    I love the two on the stand.

    Have a great week as well!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Those pictures are every bit as stunning as you promised on FB yesterday. The only time I’ve ever seen a (tiny) lizard in the wild was on holiday in Spain. I’m rather envious of all the wildlife and scenery you get to live among and very impressed with your photographic skills. Thank you for continuing to share the bounty with us πŸ™‚

  3. Disney is crawling with little lizards and my grandson loves chasing them even though he’s way too old to to that. He never catches them. Great pics, Theo. Love the ones where the male is puffed out.

  4. Patricia says:

    I love the miniature dragons. Your pictures are crystal clear in detailing those scales and beads.

  5. Lindsaysf says:

    Gorgeous shots! Are these with your new camera? Unfortunately the only ones that get in the house here are brought in by my cats, and a bit worse for wear. I try to rescue them and that them out, but if they have any life left, they’re still fast.

    • Taken with the other new camera. Heh. The Lumix doesn’t arrive until, hopefully, tomorrow. I’m excited to see what it can do, and I already know I’ll need the tripod for that massive optical zoom.

  6. Yvonne says:

    Great pictures as per usual, I especially like the second last one.
    A great week to you too:-)

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Man, I’m tired. I read the title of your post as, “Lizards and A-holes.” Ha.

    As usual, I love the pictures. It’s interesting to see these guys up close.

Leave a Reply

