More Birds and R’s Mom

It’s been a hard week. Work has sucked up a lot of my time, so I didn’t write as much as I wanted to. That upset me, especially when I realized I haven’t put out a new title since last Halloween. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The way things are going, I’ll be lucky to release two books this year, and that’s simply not enough. Something must be done, and I’m thinking about it.

R tells me his 82-year-old mother may be moving into the lake house this weekend. He says it’s temporary, but I think it’ll be hard to get her out of there once she takes up residence. The woman pisses away money, having a generous monthly stipend, butย is always in debt and bugging her family to help her out financially. They’re all sick of it, and no, she’s not senile. She’s always been this wasteful and stupid when it comes to money. On what she gets each month, I would never have to edit again, could afford a new car, and would be able to travel, albeit modestly. She has two storage units she’s been paying $60 each a month for, and they’re stuffed with shit she hasn’t looked at in years, yet she needsย more. Hoarders, anyone?

This depresses me some, because the lake house is a great vantage point to take photos. I’ve gotten lots of cool shots there, as you know. It’s also close; I can zip over there for a break, kick back with a beer and the camera, then return home refreshed, ready to tackle things again. Although I get along with her well enough, she drives me batty; see previous paragraph. Childlike adults always irk, ya know?

The wood storks are still hanging around. Got a pic of one recently at the lake. Looks like he’s yawning. ๐Ÿ™‚ There are two islands on the lake, and this one, which is directly off R’s property, is where all the action is. The birds like to sit in the trees on the west side, facing the sunset. Can’t say I blame them.ย Wood Stork in Tree 3.3.15 sm

Two ibis on the shore. Again, it was late in the day, which is great for picture taking.Two Ibis 3.4.15 sm

Ibis and Little Blue 3.4.15 sm

And the sunset that afternoon. There was a band of clouds above the horizon, as you can see, and I was taken by the light pattern coming through the lower edge. Almost looks like a bird in flight, taking off from a river of gold.ย Sunsset 3.4.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to More Birds and R’s Mom

  1. Helena Stone says:

    The pictures as always are gorgeous but that sunset is stunning. Wow

    I hope you’ll find a way to write more. I’m kinda addicted to your words so it’s a somewhat selfish wish but I don’t feel too bad about it since it seems to be what you want as well.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Allison says:

    I love how the flying ibis in the second shot looks like a negative as it’s taking off.

    Sorry to hear that the lake house is going to be less pleasant than it has been. I hope you can manage to visit around her presence.

    I was thinking earlier this week that I was missing your books. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope that you are able to work something out so that you can get more than two out this year.

    Have a great weekend, Fen!

  3. R’s MOM UPDATE: It seems the story is still unfolding. The latest info has her pissed off at her kids (and grandkids) for no longer giving her money when she asks for it, so she’s determined to drive back to Arizona by herself in a car that may not make it. She leaves tomorrow unless something or someone interferes.

    I suspect this is another ploy to play on the relative’s guilt. Updates as they happen. Heh.

  4. Is the lake house R’s main house or one of his other properties? The pics are all gorgeous as usual, the sunset especially. I tagged you in one of my friends pics, don’t know if you saw or not, but our heron are back. These are the Great Blue Heron, so, in theory, you shouldn’t see them now. Except those too old to travel. Heh.

    • I saw the shot; very nice. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I saw a great blue heron here just last week. I think some birds simply choose not to migrate. Perhaps that is due to age, or maybe a certain percentage of birds just don’t go north. I don’t know enough about them to speculate. I remember seeing them in MN when I was a kid.

      The lake house was bought as an investment. R plans to rent it out seasonally. I briefly thought about renting it, but it’s a little more than I can afford, and it’s too big for me. I’d end up shutting off a couple bedrooms. Otherwise, I really like the place. Right now, he’s fixing it up and acquiring furniture for it. (Another reason I won’t take it; I have my own.)

  5. valjo44 says:

    That photo of the sunset looks a little like a Phoenix rising…….๐Ÿ˜Œ

  6. valjo44 says:

    …….and it really sucks to have one of your places of creativity high jacked by negativity!

    • She may be returning home after all. Won’t know for a few days. I think she’s too damn old to drive across the country alone in a car that just got fixed. Her sons do, too, but she’s a stubborn old bat. I predict, if she does start west in the morning, R or one of his two brothers will soon here she’s broken down somewhere or realized she’s too tired to do this on her own.

  7. valjo44 says:

    Still gets attention though…….

    • That’s definitely why she’s doing it. “You’ll be sorry, wait and see!” Such a child. Grown adults should never act like this. The impulse might be felt but should not be indulged.

  8. Patricia says:

    She’s quite a character, she may pop up in a story, no? I love your bird pictures. Capturing them on digital as well as you do is a triumph.

  9. Another Mom update: One of her grandsons is flying down from MN, then will drive Grandma back to AZ. The other drivers don’t know how lucky they are.

  10. A.M.B. says:

    I’m sorry last week was so rough. I hope this one was better. I’ve had a pretty shitty couple of weeks too (personal reasons, unfortunately). I’m hoping it’ll get better soon.

Leave a Reply

