Bits of Florida

Before we get to the photos, I wanted to touch briefly on something that occurred to me a few days ago: age, and its impact on relationships.

As you know, I’m getting on in years, yet online, age is not a factor. Have you noticed? We relate to each other easily when physical factors don’t get in the way. My friends online are every age, and it doesn’t seem to matter. We connect on a basic level, which shows everyone has something in common.

I then thought about my real life. I’m mostly surrounded by people who are older. There are few young in the mix. Why is that?

People look at someone like me and see only the shell. They think I’m stupid, uninformed, or at the very least, are uninterested in anything I have to say because they can’t see it would be relevant. Because I’m old, ya know. If they only knew, eh? 🙂

They don’t give me the chance to connect with them, and I think that’s detrimental to both of us. And lest you think I’m not guilty of doing the same thing, well, I’ve avoided talking to most of my neighbors because they’re all so old. I’ve reached the age where I don’t want to censor myself, and with them, I have to. I used “fuck” in a sentence with someone, and she immediately remarked about how she doesn’t like bad language. 

Really? You think you have the right to correct my language? We’re both in our 60s, hon. Fuck off.

Don’t hang out with that one much, nor the couple next door. Talk about boring! I did spend an hour talking to them, and they didn’t have one interesting thing to say. But at least I gave them a chance, right? We should all give each other the chance to become friends. Put the judgmental attitude on the shelf and open yourself to others, no matter what their age. The results might be surprising.

Back at the lake house and my favorite photo op, I spotted this anhinga drying his wings in the afternoon sun. The birds love this spot for some reason. I suppose the plethora of perches and angle of the light have something to do with it.

Anhinga Sunning 2.20.15 sm

This mockingbird perched close enough for me to get a very nice shot of him. Although it could be a female; I neglected to look it up. *slaps self* He’s sitting on a lime tree R plans to plant soon. I keep wanting to say mockingjay, and I bet you know why. 🙂 Mockingbird 2.22.15 sm

Florida woods are not like those up north. For instance, they are generally more dense and hide things that might harm you, like poisonous snakes. Also, some plants are nasty. The Spanish Bayonet has serrated leaves with tips so damn sharp, brushing them will break skin and draw blood. I know, because R has a couple, and I’ve been stabbed more than once. I love these trees, though! Draped in Spanish moss, they are beautiful. Florida Woods 2.22.15 sm

Have a terrific weekend! Suki gets her teeth cleaned this morning, so I won’t be around until later.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bits of Florida

  1. Allison says:

    I’ve never not connected with someone because of age in either direction until they’ve proven that what they have to discuss and believe is going to irritate me to the point that I’m not going to want to deal with them. I do admit though that if someone is very different from me I feel a certain reticence in approaching them but I think that’s a part of my general reticence about approaching anyone and I am trying to make myself reach out more.

    I love the tree, there’s a lot of atmosphere in that shot.

    I hope everything goes well for Suki!

    • Remember my luncheon with the church ladies? OY! That rubbed me the wrong way so very much, it almost made me sick. I was literally jumping out of my skin in my anxiety to get away from them.

      To other people who believe as they do, and consider religion the central focus of their lives, that’s all well and good, but I will never be able to fit in there, so why try? And if they knew the “real me,” they’d either send me to hell or try to convince that’s where I’m going. 😉 I happen to like myself and my position in life. No one’s gonna brainwash me now.

  2. A.M.B. says:

    You know, I can’t really picture you as anything other than around my age. I tend to think of everyone on the internet as “around my age” unless they’re talking about things that I really can’t relate to. Recently, I came across a book blogger whose taste in books was so different from mine that it was like we were from two completely different worlds. She was on the younger end of high school (which actually made me uncomfortable–I don’t like interacting with children I don’t know on the Internet). That made me feel “old.” Otherwise, I rarely notice age on the internet.

    • I don’t know the ages of many of the people I speak with online. It really doesn’t matter if we like each other. But yes, I understand your reticence when it comes to kids. For one thing, they’re still growing/learning, and adults have no idea where they are mentally or psychologically if they’re not willing or able to spend a lot of time figuring that out. There’s a fine line between being available for guidance and inadvertently shoving them in the wrong direction.

  3. First, can I just tell you how hard I rolled my eyes when I read “I’m getting on in years”? I may never find them now. ;o)

    You have way to much to offer – you need to find some like-minded peeps.

    Your interaction with Timmy the other night was a shining example of that. No one reading that interaction would ever know there’s a 50-year age gap between you. Age/sex didn’t matter. It was simply two human beings being honest and being in the moment with each other. Told you then – you should volunteer at an LGBT youth shelter or something similar. You have a no nonsense way about you and teens respond to that. And I think you’d end up getting more out of it than them.

    I know you watch Survivor and, yeah, it’s reality TV, but it’s also pretty accurate when it comes to how society views itself. The older white woman is almost always the first to go. Always seems odd to me that the mother figure is the first to be rendered useless. In the end, only the beautiful/strong/cunning are left. It’s why I wish Fen’s Island was real. I love the idea of a beautiful place with people who genuinely like each other for who they are on the inside – just hanging out and enjoying what the others have to offer. And the food is amazing. ;o)

    • 🙂 Survivor often frustrates me for the reasons you mention. Who usually wins? A guy, because the women end up kowtowing to the males at the expense of their game. That being said, however, if women played as hard as men, they’d be ousted in a flash. The backstabbing that goes on is mind-boggling! That blonde from last season? Rode her boyfriend’s coattails all the way to the end and then stated she’d earned the right to be there. Uh, NO. I knew she wouldn’t win, and she didn’t. She was an idiot.

      You made an interesting point about the mother figure being “rendered useless.” Interesting. What does that say about our society?

      • Allison says:

        I’m amazed you watch Survivor. My mind boggles.

        • I know! Sometimes I think it’s totally stupid, but watching a small group of people relate to each other while plotting to win a lot of money is endlessly fascinating. The show lays bare exactly how petty and mean humans can be. Very few of them maintain their integrity or ethics. This show proves we will never be civilized. Humans are merely operating under a thin veneer of manners.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Age, in my opinion is mostly a state of mind. Yes, the body will be less willing and able as the years go by and that gets frustrating, but I like to think that (so far at least) only my body is aging. But you are right of course, I see it all the time, people being ignored or not taken seriously because they are older (or too young). I like to think I judge people only on their words and actions and I hope somebody will pull me up on it if that’s not the case.
    Jaycee is right in that you might want to try and meet people outside the community you’re living in. Clearly they’re (in general) not living in the same world you are. Volunteering with LGBT youth sounds like a wonderful idea, if that is something you would be comfortable with, but I’m sure there’s other options as well.
    Your photos, as always, are gorgeous and a delight to look at. Florida is such a foreign environment for me I drink it in whenever you share images.

    • Florida is a sub-tropical environment, and it’s foreign to me, too, though getting less so with every passing day.

      I would like to hook up with LGBT people in the area, but the biggest impediment to that is how busy I am with work and writing.

  5. Patricia says:

    Every time I see the black anhinga drying his wings on my tiny dock, that juts out into the lake, I feel the bird is a blessing to me. I love the way his neck crooks and cranes, and then he eyeballs me, and continues preening.

  6. Roger Howell says:

    As to the age factor I seem to relate to older people better than people closer to my age which is mid 40’s. I know it might sound contrite but I have always been told I am an old soul in younger body. I honestly think older people especially the elderly have so many life’s lessons to teach the younger generations. I love to hear how the older people used to live their lives. Some of the tales I heard make reality TV pale in comparison. I know each generation has had it’s ups and downs but honestly sometimes I wish I could live somewhere in the past. On another note, I used to live in Florida and really enjoyed it. I lived in Cocoa Beach. Even in the late 80’s it was pretty well developed but a person could still see a lot of the wild life. I used to be able to get out on the river side of CB and see all kinds of interesting things. The manatees were especially neat to watch. The first time I saw the armadillos out at Cape Canaveral was an experience to be had.

    • I would like to extend my area of exploration. I live on the edge of sparsely populated areas, and that means more wildlife. I haven’t been over to the Atlantic side yet; have to remedy that.

      I get along well with people who don’t judge. Doesn’t matter how old they are as long as they accept me as is.

Leave a Reply

