More Birds, a Dog, and an Orchid

Photos today!

We start with a common mourning dove. It was sitting in the tree at R’s lake house, watching the setting sun. Mourning Dove 2.18.15 sm

 

Next, another common bird: a chickadee. Same tree, different branch. Carolina Chicadee 2.18.15 sm

This next one, of an egret and a little blue heron, made me laugh out loud. The heron kind of stuck its head up unexpectedly, and it struck me as comical. 🙂 The look on its face! Egret and Little Blue Lakehouse 2.17.20 sm

All the bird pics were taken at the lake house. So was this pic of R’s dog, Star. She’s getting on in years now, but she could still take someone out. Large, heavy dog, but quite friendly. Likes to greet me by jumping up. Uh, no! She weighs almost as much as I do. Star 2.18.15 sm

Last, an orchid. Taken at my place, complete with spider webs. 😉 Orchids 2.18.15 sm

Amazing what the camera picks up, isn’t it? 🙂 To me, these flowers look like birds in flight when looked at from a certain angle. Look at the one at top left.

Today, the cold moves on and out, and tomorrow, south Florida will be bathed in warmth again. Looking for a high of around 76. Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to More Birds, a Dog, and an Orchid

  1. Star looks like my old dog, Rocky. He was a great dog. Hadn’t noticed the bird in flight orchid until you pointed it out. It totally does look like that! And the heron photo-bombing you? BWAHAHAHA!

  2. Allison says:

    The heron does look like it’s staring you down. 🙂 I’d love to see a picture of Star and Suki together! I am guessing Suki is about the size of Star’s head, maybe.

    In the smaller version of the picture I see a monkey sitting on a glider in the orchid. LOL, when I, to borrow a Thorny phrase, embiggened it I could see the bird. 🙂

  3. You mean, “Clickity to embiggen” isn’t real?

  4. The flower in the lower left looks like an angry bird sitting all hunched up.

  5. Helena Stone says:

    Funny, I saw that bird in flight before I read your words. Just goes to show that we don’t all look at pictures the same way or see the same things. As always your photos are gorgeous. As always I’m jealous of the flora and fauna you call ‘common’. I’m not sure about the mourning dove but I’m fairly sure we do not have chickadee’s here so to me all of it looks exotic. Well maybe not the dog, but you know what I mean.

    Thank you for sharing the beauty again. It’s always a pleasure.

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Wonderful pictures! I wouldn’t have guessed that was a chickadee from that angle. I love those little birds. They remind me of my middle daughter (I call her “chickadee”).

Leave a Reply

