Photos! Also, Before and After

I get a lot more work done when I keep social media tabs closed. That shouldn’t be a surprise, but it seems I have to keep reminding myself 😉 As I was ahead of schedule, I put together some photos for today’s blog.

Most people never realize what a difference filters and adjustments can make. If you follow me on Facebook, you’ve seen this already, but it bears repeating.

Straight out of the camera:Great Blue Heron 2.8.15 orig sm

 

After I did magical things to it in Photoshop:Great Blue Heron 2.8.15 sm

What a difference, eh? Just goes to show you. I applied curves to balance the contrast, then stuck it in Topaz Adjust, where the Spicify filter did more stuff, like bring out color and define things in the photo. Then I ran it through Topaz DeNoise to remove graininess. After that, I applied the Orton effect (do a search on the blog to find posts about that) and then bumped the color even more. Time involved? Ten minutes tops.

Here’s another example of before and after. Before is nice enough, right? Kind of blah, but okay. IMG_1397

And then there’s this: Two Anhingas Camille Lake 2.9.15 smAs we all know, I like saturated colors! I want to see the blues and greens vividly. 🙂

This is the island where I took today’s photos. Notice the two birds at the top of the tree on the left? Those are the anhingas. They flew up there after I snapped them below. Normally, when it nears sunset, the vultures plant themselves in the tree in the middle. Island 2.8.15 Orton sm

Here’s another shot from the island. I noticed something glistening in the sun and thought it was a white bird. Nope! Turned out to be this palm frond. It caught the light just right.Palm fronds closeup 2.8.15 sm

All photos in this series had the Orton effect applied. A mask was used to bring back sharpness and detail in the focus area.

Hope you have a great weekend! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photos! Also, Before and After

  1. Helena Stone says:

    All the options available to adjust/change/improve pictures never cease to amaze me. The possibilities truly are endless, aren’t they? As always I admire your eye for a beautiful picture. Your photos never fail to take my breath away. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I never understood what you were talking about with “filters” until I started messing around the past few weeks in Ribbet (free online photo editing program). They call them “effects” but I think it’s the same idea, just not as complex. It gets addictive. ;o) Thanks for all the green. It’s appreciated! ❤

    • You’re welcome. I love that things stay green here through winter. The hibiscus bush outside the lanai window is blooming. My orchids look great. R’s orchid tree is also blooming.

      My kind of winter!

  3. Yvonne says:

    Thanks for those wonderful splashes of colour. What a difference indeed.
    A good weekend to you too.

  4. Allison says:

    The last shot makes me think of fairy lights draped around. My eyes followed the red flowers in their display. 🙂 Gorgeous as always.

    I’m glad you’re getting things done even if we all miss having you around.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    I get a lot more work done when I stay away from social media too (I’ve had no choice but to avoid it lately! Too many deadlines!). The photos are lovely, as usual.

    • I’ve noticed you haven’t been around as much. Hope you get a break soon. 🙂

      • A.M.B. says:

        Thanks, but it’s unlikely! I’m involved in a case that will probably require a significant amount of attention for at least a few more months. On top of that, I’m in the middle of edits to my WIP (a reader came back with tons of comments–I’m grateful, but it’s a lot of work!).

        • And you have three kids, and you have a husband. You are one of the busiest people I know, which makes me appreciate it even more when you stop by my blog. *blows kisses*

          • A.M.B. says:

            Thanks! I really enjoy your blog and try to stop by as often as I can. I am pretty busy, but it helps that I don’t sleep much. Insomnia is my friend. 😉

          • That’s got to be hard on you though. I’ve suffered periods of insomnia and didn’t enjoy it at all. But I freely admit I love sleep. If science came up with a way to do without it, I don’t think I could give it up.

Leave a Reply

