Monday, Monday Pics

For you working folk, it’s another Monday. For me, who also works, it’s just another day ’cause I work pretty much every morning. 😉 I’m taking the next two days off, though. A friend is visiting from Wisconsin, and Tuesday, we are going to have dinner at my favorite restaurant and then hang out at the condo for the afternoon. Suki will like seeing her again.

Today there are photos. We revisit the wood storks. I spotted them at the north end of the canal, walking around in someone’s yard. They look like a mated pair to me. 🙂 These birds are very large, between three and four feet tall. It takes a lot of fish to make them feel full.WoodStorks  1.31.15 sm

During my daily walk Sunday, I got to within five feet of this tricolor heron. He watched me with suspicion, but he didn’t fly away. The tiny white feathers on its beak are from grooming. TriColor Heron 1 1.31.15 sm

Sunday afternoon, Suki and I were at R’s new house. He says he’s going to rent it, but he seems to like it quite a lot. He’s brought over a lot of trees and plants and is there almost every day planting them.

This white male egret sheltered under an overhanging tree on one of the islands in the lake. There are two.Male Egret 2.1.15 sm

Spotted this Little Blue Heron fishing along the shore. This is the quintessential Florida shot: heron, lake, sun sparkles on blue. A pearl of water on its beak caught the light; I love when that happens. Quintessential Florida 2.1.15 sm

Hope you have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday, Monday Pics

  1. Your pictures are just breathtaking. Especially to someone snowed in and surrounded by white. The one of the egret made me smile just because of the blue and the green. I miss green.

    I forgot your friend was coming. This visit will probably be good for both of you.

  2. A.M.B. says:

    Wonderful photos! I love birds.
    I hope you have a great week too!

  3. Allison says:

    Love all the sunshine in your shots! I have a much better sense of the size of the wood storks now. Looking at birds that size makes me wonder that it took so long to figure out that dinosaurs and birds were related.

    Have an amazing time with your friend, I’m so glad you are getting together!

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Your pictures took my breath away, but then again, they invariable do. The variety of birds is amazing to me. We don’t get that here, at least not of birds that size.I’m not too jealous of your blue skies since we get quite a few of those too. I’d happily take your temperatures though, ours linger around freezing day and night and for Ireland that’s quite cold.

    I hope you and your friend have a wonderful time. Enjoy your time off.

  5. Patricia says:

    A week ago my family spotted a white swan here by our lake behind our house (Florida). The bird had to fly across the water twice before he got enough speed to take up into the sky.

    I’ve seen the occasional wood stork and photographed them. I marvel at their incredibly dour ugly faces and then watch them lift off and show their wide black trimmed wings.

  6. ludwigcarol5 says:

    I’m with Jaycee.I love your pictures and miss the green as well.I slipped and fell on ice this morning and now look like I went a round with Rocky. I’m glad your friend is coming to visit you.Have a wonderful time Theo. And thank you for the bits of green. Gives me something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

