For the Birds

Most of the photos today are bird pics, and two of them feature them standing on one leg. How they do this on a tree, in the wind, is beyond me. We begin with the Great Blue Heron. I think they are magnificent. He’s in the dead tree, of course. He chased out a few vultures and claimed the branch. πŸ™‚Great Blue 1.17.15 sm

Next is the ibis. There is a flock of them around right now because the guy across the canal keeps feeding them bread. This isn’t good for them, and there are laws against feeding wildlife, but he does it anyway.Β One legged ibis 1.17.15 sm

I took this next one Sunday morning. I noticed the guy, who is fairly young and bearded, though you can’t tell from the photo, on the lake. He was fishing. In fact, I saw several people fishing the lake yesterday. I wonder if they caught anything? If they did, did they take them home? I am not happy about fishing for sport. If you catch something–if you cause the fish pain–then eat them.Β Man on a Skiff 1.18.15 sm

Behind him is the island at the end of the canal. I have not seen the ‘gator. I wonder if he was moved or went somewhere else?

Another nice week lies ahead. The temps have been wonderful! I love waking up each day. I leap out of bed and throw open the curtains to check out the canal and sky. Almost always, it is sunny. The nights have been a little cool, but it warms up by midmorning. I’m usually out in the lanai working by then, Suki at my feet. Break for lunch, then finish work or switch to writing. Dinner then, and afterward some relaxing television, streamed or DVD. Then reading until bed.

This is my schedule most days of the week. Occasionally, I run errands or visit R or take off for a drive or go out to dinner, but mostly, yeah, this is it.

To some, my life may sound boring, but I love it! There is very little stress, and I’m happy a lot these days. πŸ™‚

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to For the Birds

  1. Helena Stone says:

    To some your life may sound boring, to me it sounds about as close to perfection as it could get. And, with the first sighting of a layer of ice on the lake this morning, I’m more than a little bit jealous of your temperatures (permission to gloat granted πŸ™‚ ).

    I love your pictures. If I wanted to see those birds I’d have to go and visit Dublin zoo. For you they are an every day occurrence for me they represent exotic climes. And I completely agree with you about fishing; if you have to fish the least you can do is eat what you catch.

    Have a wonderful week.

    • I think we all take our surroundings for granted to a certain extent, and stupidly think others will find them boring. I felt that way when I lived up north; I’d been there so many years, I grew tired of it, and so I thought others would be too. Not so!

      And now that I’ve been away almost a year, I find myself remembering some of my favorite back roads and missing them. One thing I do miss very much is the pure space I experienced when riding the scooter in Wisconsin. Farms, a few houses, but I rarely saw people and running into cars on those back roads was rare. I appreciated that a lot when I was there; I knew how uncommon it was.

      Florida does not offer the same sense of welcome aloneness. That’s a shame.

      • Helena Stone says:

        I’ve got all the aloneness I could wish for here in Ireland and, like you, I love it. I have to go to Dublin tomorrow and while I usually enjoy my visits I know I’ll be more than ready for my return to peace and quiet by the end of the day.

        • I’m always looking for empty roads here. They are few and far between. 😦 Too many people! But I’ve made my peace with it because I love the weather enough to put up with anything. Plus I can always escape to my condo or R’s house, which is surrounded with open land. Where he lives, there is plenty of space. In fact, now that the weather is cooler, he and I should go explore some deserted acreage not far from where he lives. Never know what you’ll find!

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    We have a blue heron rookery in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. It’s a local rite of spring, to go check on the nests. It’s usually our first excursion back outside on the first halfway decent day. Temps will hit 50 and the sun will be out for the first time in months and everyone is itching to get outside and DO something but there’s nothing to do yet – trails are still icy or muddy, River is still too cold, wind is still nippy… So we all go see if the heron are back. The park service has made a nice pull off for cars so we can get out and watch without disrupting traffic. They come back to the same nests usually in early March, so when I start seeing them, you probably won’t anymore. When they fly, they look and sound prehistoric. They are quiet flyers for such a big bird. One can fly right over you and you’d never hear it unless they make their weird squawk. It’s a creeky-cracky sound. You’d think, for such a big bird, they’d have to flap hard to keep airborne, but, no. They flap their wings very slowly and smoothly – I love to watch them. Sometimes they fly over me when I’m out vacuuming the pool and the only way I know is by the huge shadow they cast. It’s fun to watch them fish in the canal. They are quite patient. I’m quite fond of them because seeing them is like seeing a robin – it means the long, cold winter is almost over!

    And your life doesn’t sound any more boring than mine. There is a huge difference between boring and peaceful, yet they look very similar to an outsider. I’m glad you’re happy, Fen. This time last winter you were miserable and Suki couldn’t even pee. It was stressful for us too, worrying about you guys. Happy Theo is much more fun. πŸ™‚

  3. Allison says:

    I didn’t know Herons were so forceful or maybe I’m giving vultures too much credit. I like ibis mainly because when I see them I know I’m on vacation! You’d think we’d have them around here since we have so many rivers but I think all the hawks and eagles must chase them away.

    The main difference between your life and mine is that you have some control over when you work, I have to be places on other people’s time. Something that has made me unhappy since i was a child but that I have yet to figure a way around. Being able to open my curtains to a beautiful canal every day would be wonderful, I am beyond happy you found a place you love so much.

    • Ooh, I hated having to adhere to the schedule of others too. Despised that damn alarm clock, which went off in the dark most of the year. Couldn’t stand getting up at that hour.

      I am so much happier now that I set my own schedule! I rarely get up in the dark these days, but when I do, it’s my choice. I don’t even have an alarm clock anymore!

  4. Allison says:

    I resisted school for years because I couldn’t understand why it had to be when they wanted it and not when I did. I need to find some sort of job that would allow me to work on my own schedule, I’m sure I’d be much happier than I have been in the jobs I’ve held so far.

  5. Jaycee Edward says:

    When I have to get up at zero dark thirty now, I wonder how in the world I did it day after day. It’s horrible being woken out of a deep slumber and having to force yourself awake. It’s so much better letting your body wake on its own, when it’s ready. I’ve never been a morning person – ever. My natural cycle is 9am – 2am+. I love being up at night when no one else is.

  6. ludwigcarol5 says:

    I always feel so good and happy after reading your blog posts. And I’m a mega fan of your pics. Today is no different. I’m so glad your loving life Theo. Thank you so much for spreading the cheer to all of us. It’s dark and gray out my window so I’ll look at your pictures instead. Have a wonderful week.

    • I’m glad the photos are helpful. πŸ™‚

      This afternoon, Suki and I went exploring, doing research for a book. We had such fun, and I came back brimming with ideas. I’m writing them up now. I took a few pictures, but it’s what I see in my head that I’ll use. πŸ™‚

  7. A.M.B. says:

    Your life sounds wonderful! Boredom only affects people without imaginations anyway.
    The bird photographs are great, as usual. Thanks for sharing them!

    • The only time I’m bored is when I’m depressed. So when I feel that way, I know it’s depression, not boredom, and I do something about it. Fortunately, this happens rarely. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

