Polite Society

All photos can be seen in their uploaded size by clicking on them.

Vultures are ugly birds. Those heads!Vulture 1.5.15 sm

But they are more polite than most people I know. This vulture was on the shore eating a dead fish, and at least ten of his friends gathered round, near him and in the dead tree, but not one of them approached him. Imagine that! Someone is eating and you’re hungry, but you do not try to get it away from him. I find that pretty darned amazing. My respect for vultures went way up. 

Meanwhile, on my side of the canal, a Little Blue Heron stood watch. If birds could salivate, I suspect he’d have been doing it. Little Blue 1.5.15 sm

Eventually, the fish was eaten and everyone left.

Walking Suki the other day, I spied this colorful display across the street, went back, and grabbed the camera. I don’t know what the pretty orange-bedecked tree/bush is called, but note the orange tree to the right. It’s almost harvest time!Orange Tree and Oranges 1.4.15 sm

We’ve been experiencing some foggy mornings lately, and I’ve been taking pics. There’s something soothing about the fog, don’t you think?Foggy Osprey 1.3.15 sm

I decorated one room for Christmas: the lanai. Here’s a night shot of it.Lanai Lights 12.31.14 sm

The lights are still up but I don’t turn them on anymore. I’m thinking about replacing them with white lights, though I do enjoy the colors. What do you think?

Oh, and if you missed it, check this out! I’m a 12 Days of Christmas spotlighted author at Padme’s Library.

Have a great week! I know I will. 🙂

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Polite Society

  1. Helena Stone says:

    LOL, vultures are rather nasty looking creatures, aren’t they? Apparently they, like swans, mate for life (you’re piece of useless trivia for the day). You’re pictures of them on the other hand are gorgeous.

    I like your idea of keeping the lights on. We’ve got one small set of lights permanently installed and on in the main room in our house. Since we have no street lights here the house gets very dark at night. With those small lights on we can still find our way around in the middle of the night without injuring ourselves or having to turn on a big light which would completely wake us up.

    Also, I had missed your author’s spotlight but will go and check it out as soon as I finish typing. Have a wonderful day/week.

    • I have a nightlights in the kitchen and bathroom. They are more than adequate to provide illumination in the middle of the night. However, I also leave the hall light on when I’m out, otherwise I’m fumbling the key into the lock.

      I suspect everyone here already thinks I’m weird, so leaving Christmas lights on year round probably wouldn’t make it worse. 😉

  2. Those orange trees make me miss my father. He used to send us a box of oranges and grapefruit at Christmas time. You can’t beat Florida oranges. They are so much better than California ones.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love the lanai – it looks so cozy and inviting!! Yes – go for white lights! Vultures are unappreciated – like garbagemen. Where would we be without them? Love the shot of the heron. I love the background. Wish I knew how to do that kind of effect. I suck at photography and I’m too impatient to learn. That bush – at least up here – is called a Hummingbird Vine. It grows like mad and it’s impossible to get rid of but it’s beautiful when it blooms. Jealous of the oranges – if I lived there, the first thing I’d do is plant a grapefruit tree and my entire house would smell like them. YUM!!

    • If I owned property, I’d plant citrus too. R has a few trees in his yard, but it’s slow going. Takes a while to establish. Climate change isn’t helping; temps sometimes dip down near or below freezing for a night or two, and that isn’t good.

      The background for the heron is the canal water. Lucky me, eh?

  4. Lindsaysf says:

    A place I used to visit was on the turkey buzzard migration route. Come February, there might be 100+ roosting in one of the enormous sycamores. Aesthetically, they’re ..well, vultures. But watching them weave in and out of the branches was magical.
    Gorgeous pictures!
    Happy New Year!

  5. Allison says:

    I love the foggy picture, there is so much atmosphere to it, definitely feels like a story waiting to happen.

    I didn’t realize that orange trees were just available to the public like that for some reason. I loved that about Hawaii people have fruit trees in their yards simply because they grow there. It’s a very different feel for someone that grew up with one paltry plum tree as a kid.

    The lanai is fantastic, I can completely picture you there. I don’t see any reason not to have the lights up and while I the white lights might be more… common that’s just a reason to leave the colorful lights hanging in my opinion. 🙂

  6. ludwigcarol5 says:

    Good Monday to you Theo. As you may know I’m a big fan of your pics. The reason is because they are as random as your books are. Each tells it’s own story. I would put up white lights. It would look great. We had them on the front porch when I lived down south. We also had ceiling fans on our porch as well,which people up here find odd. It is one of the things I miss about living down there. And of course the old beautiful southern houses in Mobile. Those draping flower vines might be honeysuckle vines. We had them on our fence in our back yard. My kids used to pick them and suck the juice out of them when they were little. I can’t seem to make them grow up here. Thank you for sharing with us and have a wonderful week Theo.

  7. Patricia says:

    House of Blue Lights

  8. valjo44 says:

    Coral honeysuckle vine….?
    That vulture’s head reminds me of my sister’s rooster “Wicked”, who is now no more after repeatedly attacking the hand that feeds it! I wonder about the evolutionary need for all that red, knobby, bumpy, wattly 😄 flesh on the head….
    Definitely leave the lights up….I have them up in several rooms in my house, white and different colors. They make me happy just watching them “twinkle” at night.

    • I love twinkly lights, too. I’m really into the sparklies.

      That’s an interesting question about the red knobby bits. Muscovy ducks have that, too, and it’s ugly on them as well. Evolution created it, but sometimes it’s not easy to see why.

  9. A.M.B. says:

    Right now, it’s 18 degrees in Philly. You and your “pretty orange-bedecked tree” (a trumpet flower perhaps?) have made me very, very jealous. 😉

    • The bougainvillea are also blooming, as are the orchid trees. I do like seeing color in “winter.” 🙂 Because of the polar vortex up north, we’ve had a chilly couple of nights and one day when the temp didn’t get above seventy, but no way am I complaining!

Leave a Reply

