It’s Over!

Christmas has come and gone, and I have to force myself back into work mode. This will not be easy!

I spent Christmas Eve in Coral Gables with friends of R’s. There was lots of food, including the best clam chowder I’ve ever eaten, and a fire happening in the backyard. A neighbor kindly provided music from his lanai–we met him, too–and I had a great time. My only regret was we drove there and back in the dark, and this was my first time to that part of Florida.

Yesterday, I was at R’s brother’s house for dinner and present exchange. It was a lot of fun, except for about half an hour when I was reminded of D’s recent death and found myself missing my northern friends.

After posting this blog, I have to start the workday. Meh. I’ve never felt less like working. Holidays are a pain that way, aren’t they? Get you into a celebratory mood, then doing an about-face back to reality.ย 

This Great Blueย Heron perched in the dead tree across the canal a few days ago. He stayed there long enough for the morning light to be in a nearly perfect position. Look at those long, dangly toes!Tricolor Heron 12.17.14 sm

I captured this ibis on the lake behind R’s brother’s house. He was backlit, but I still like the shot, mostly because of that beak.ย Ibis 12.25.14 sm

Here’s a pic of the palm trees in the pool area during the day. There was a “proper” Christmas tree inside, but I liked this one better. ๐Ÿ™‚ So much more like Florida. The weather, btw, was incredibly good. High of 75, sunny, light breeze. I spent a lot of time in the lanai.PalmTrees Lights 12.25.14 sm

And here’s one of their cats, captured in that same area.ย Smokey 12.25.14 2

The palm trees at full dark, the lights reflecting in the pool.. Night Lights 12.25.14 sm

Last but not least, Suki did a little dance on her hind legs for someone, and I was lucky enough to grab a picture of it.ย Suki Dances 12.25.14 sm

All in all, a pretty terrific holiday. Hope you can say the same. And now–sigh–to work I go! Enjoy your weekend.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s Over!

  1. Allison says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun, glad to hear it! Back to work does suck especially at the holidays.

    I love the ripples in the water in the heron shot. Suki is, as always, adorable!

    I hope you have a chance to relax a bit more.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love all the pics. Gorgeous. I’m a little jealous. If we’d have had snow, I wouldn’t be, but we had 50F, gray and dreary. It’s ugly here when there’s nothing alive and no snow to cover it up. Decorations just look tacky without a blanket of snow. I’m glad you had a nice holiday. And thanks for the pic of Suki. Those are always a special treat!

  3. Helena Stone says:

    Both the Netherlands and Ireland have a two day Christmas. It makes sense to me. Christmas can get intense enough to allow a day just to come down from it. This year, I’m lucky enough not to have to go back to work until January second and, if I’m honest, even that feels like too soon to me.

    I’m so glad your Christmas was mostly fun and good. And you know what, that half hour of grief is, in my eyes at least, not a bad thing. That’s how we honour those we love and lose; first in experiencing the pain their absence creates and later in the beautiful memories we treasure whenever they enter our minds.

    Don’t forget to allow some time for play while you’re working and thank you, once again, for those stunningly beautiful pictures.

    • I got all emotional last night. Cried and everything. Not like me, not like me at all. But they were cool about it, especially when I explained I was missing someone. Turns out a friend of theirs recently died, too, so they understood. After that, I felt better.

      I plan to play as often as possible this week after I finish work for the day. Even if that means lounging in bed watching junk TV. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. ludwigcarol5 says:

    Aww,so glad you had a good holiday Theo.I love reading how everyone spent their time with family and/or friends. I spent my Christmas day with my grandkids making crafts they got for Christmas. I now have glitter all over my rooms. While I am not a fan of glitter, as it gets all over everything, my grandson just loves the stuff, so glitter it is. I’m not yet ready for the fun to be over so I’m going to play dress-up with them today. The real life stuff will still be there tomorrow. Thank you for sharing your pics with us and I’m glad to see Suki is feeling better. Have a good weekend Theo.

  5. Patricia says:

    We took it easy and relaxed more, tried to do less, it worked out better. Much. I think meeting the homeless man on the street by Wal-Mart affected me more than anything. I won’t forget him, I can’t. I hope I encouraged him. Christmas….a season of love and grief mixed, with joy.

    • I just got news my father died. He’d been in assisted living for years, suffering a series of strokes that destroyed his mind, so it was a relief. I’m happy this finally happened. Knowing him, he’d be happy about it too. He said more than once he never wanted to end up that way.

      So yes, a season full of happy and sad.

  6. Carole says:

    So nice to hear about your holiday and that it was spent with friends. Great pictures, love the cat’s eyes and so nice seeing Suki looking so happy.
    Holiday’s can bring some serious sadness and memories of people who have passed on. Best to let it out and not hold it in.
    We are slowly making our way back to FL from NC where it was cold and raining, a combo that is no fun. Can’t wait to head to the beach when we get home and enjoy some sun!
    Would love to see pics of a Sandhill if you ever happen across one.

  7. A.M.B. says:

    I’m glad to hear that you had a nice holiday. I’m headed back to work on Tuesday (not that Monday will be fun–it’s my turn to take all the kids to routine doctors appointments. Ugh!). Thanks for the pictures. The beak on that ibis is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

