Senior Moment

Yes, I forgot today was Friday, and therefore I didn’t prepare a blog post for today. Sorry. I know quite a few of you look forward to them twice a week, and I apologize.

Right now, I’m breaking down the Weatherboy sequel chapter by chapter to give myself a blueprint to follow. Much as I enjoy writing by the seat of my pants, it’s starting to get old hitting that wall again and again while I try to decide where the story goes from there.

After talking with AJ this morning, I decided I needed to get serious about putting together a better outline to maintain forward momentum. I use Evernote to keep track of book details (characters traits, descriptions, etc.), and it’s not hard to create a new “note” that contains chapter highlights. This gives me a pathΒ to follow while still allowing the flexibility I need to allow for the occasional stroke of genius.Β 

Why Evernote? It’s synced in the cloud, so I can access it on any computer. I have a copy of Liquid Binder, but Evernote fits my needs perfectly. It even has a built-in webclipper, making it easy to save internet research to the program. I highly recommend it, and it’s free unless you want to go pro. The other program I use to access my stuff anywhere is Dropbox, which also provides a reliable backup in case of machine failure. Which one of us hasn’t been terrified at the thought of losing a WIP?

Currently, I have three computers: two laptops and a desktop. The latter is the storage machine, along with external hard drives. It also has the nice big monitor, which I love when I work on photos. And it’s the gaming machine. Though I’ve had it for two or three weeks, I only started setting it up yesterday. The basics are done, but the details remain.

Why two laptops? One is a backup for the other. Computers fail, there is no getting around that, so I purchased a cheap Dell during Black Friday (from Amazon; no way would I go to any store that week!). The Dell has become my writing machine. The Acer is now used more generally, including for some photography work, as it has a 17″ monitor. The Dell’s battery lasts longer than the Acer’s, clocking in at around six and a half hours; this makes the Dell more portable, too.

Anyway, back to Weatherboy: I’m working on that one again. I’m up to 12000 words. The goal is around 45K, which is standard for YA. I’m also proceeding with the first book of a new series. I’m excited about them both! And of course, new stories are always popping into my brain, trying to distract me. A writer’s brain is a right mess, let me tell you. πŸ™‚

While all this is going on, I’m also editing. Work comes first; so unfortunately, the writing often takes a backseat to that. But things progress, as they always do.

The weather here has been amazing. Blue skies every day, sunny and warm. I’m wearing shorts and going barefoot, and it’s late December! I have not once regretted moving here.

Have a terrific weekend! See you Monday.

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Senior Moment

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Okay, NOW I can go clean. I thought yesterday was Friday for most of the day, so you’re not alone. It’s hard when you don’t go to an EDJ. The days tend to all look the same when you’re at home. And “first book of a new series”? That’s exciting!

    • You have no idea! πŸ™‚ It’s adult, is set in New Orleans, and presents a couple of characters I’m really excited about. More about that later.

      Every day when I wake up, I tell myself what day it is. Otherwise, I wouldn’t remember for crap. Heh.

  2. I wondered why no email from you this morning.

  3. Allison says:

    i have to go to the EDJ and I still lose track of days all the time. Sometimes that is just wishing the days away but often it’s simply losing track.

    I have Evernote, I was using it for reviews but I failed to keep up with it. It is great to have a handy storage space wherever I am though.

    Yay, Weatherboy sequel! Yay, new series, I’m looking forward to seeing more about that.

    Have a fantabulous weekend, Fen! ((Hugs))

    • I don’t see how I can help it, considering how fine the weather is here lately. πŸ™‚ I have another exploration planned, deep into the wild country near here. I think they qualify as the edge of the ‘glades. Wonder what I’ll see?

  4. Helena Stone says:

    The days of the week have confused me for ages. And, every Wednesday when everybody is getting excited about it being hump day I’m just staring at the memes shaking my head thinking, ‘my (part-time) working week hasn’t even started yet πŸ˜‰

    I’m very excited about all the (plans) for writing. I’m really looking forward to more Weatherboy and deeply curious about this new series. Have a good weekend and I’m sure we’ll get a report as well as photographs of your excursion.

  5. suze294 says:

    Shorts and barefoot – what a difference a year makes!!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    I lose track of the days all the time! Good luck with the projects. They sound great (I’m looking forward to hearing more about the new series).

    • As soon as I begin devoting more time to that crucial first book, I’ll start letting out little hints what it’s about. πŸ™‚ In the meantime, still working out characters and plot twists while writing the Weatherboy sequel.

Leave a Reply

