Return to Summer

Yesterday and today, our highs have been in the upper 80s, accompanied by similar dewpoints. Am I complaining?

Are you kidding?!

I love this weather, and I appreciate it even more when I consider what the rest of the country has had to deal with the last couple weeks. (pics found on the web)Wintry WeatherBuffalo-Lake-Effect-Snow-Storm-Pics-3

Remember last year when Suki wouldn’t go out to pee because it was so cold? That wasn’t the onlyΒ problem: there was also no grass for her to pee on, and there was so much snow, I couldn’t shovel a place for her after December. She felt bad doing it on the sidewalk. Better there than in the house! Those weeks were agony for us both.

I’m convinced that was the final straw. After suffering through her elimination problems, and surviving several weeks of extremely cold temps because of the polar vortex, during which I wasn’t able to get outside and walk much, I couldn’t wait to get out of there. That’s when I called R and told him to keep an eye open for a rental.

When I told R I needed water, he laughed loud and long. “No way can you afford a place on water.”

I insisted. He searched.

Y’all know he found me a great condo on a canal for a reasonable rent, and at the end of April, I fled without a backward glance. Although I missed summer in MN/WI, the absolute best time of year to be up there, I have been supremely happy in my new home in Florida.Β Rainbow 5.15.14 sm

Have a great week! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Return to Summer

  1. Yvonne says:

    It’s always good to read these happy posts.
    Even though I’m not a fan of our long and dreary winters, there’s nothing quite like winter’s first snowfall. Then again we get nothing near the extreme amounts of snow the US is seeing these days.
    Enjoy your week,hope the temps stay as balmy as they’ve been the past few days.

    • Every time I think about how my life has changed in the last eight months or so, I’m quietly thrilled. I pretty much have everything I want, and I’m living in a climate that works for me. I realize hot and humid doesn’t appeal to everyone, and there are people who like winter. Heh. I don’t understand it, but then I’m a heat-loving lizard.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    I love seeing dreams come true! And yours have – on 2 fronts. Awesome!

    • πŸ™‚ I know! Every single thing I’ve wanted, I’ve gotten in the last few years. At the moment, I have no dreams. How odd to realize that!

      I suppose something will eventually make itself known, but for now, I’m content and happy right where I am in every aspect of my life.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    It’s 55F here today. May be the last time we see that kind of number for months and months. The wind is kicking up to 60 mph and black clouds are moving in. That means the temp is going to drop radically and we’re in for something nasty. I haven’t heard the forecast – I just know. I’ve been in somewhat of a funk lately – I get that way occasionally – but this post made me tear up in happiness. ((hugs)) I’m so very glad you’re happy, Fen.

    • Don’t feel bad. The 80s I’ve experienced the last couple days are going to give way to highs around 60 later in the week. It won’t last, but it’s going to feel mighty chilly until the cold front pushes through. Yes, we get cold fronts even here in Florida. πŸ™‚

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Summer returns to you just as the first night frost arrives in Ireland. The days are still mild and at the moment also dry. If we’re lucky the whole winter will be like that. The cold nights I can live with. In fact I can live with cold days too as long as we don’t get snow. It doesn’t take a lot of snow before we’re stuck in the house because the car can’t safely make it up or down our steep hill anymore.

    It’s great to see you so happy. You’ve obviously made the very best decision for you and it’s wonderful to see it working out so well for both you and Suki.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Wow, what a beautiful picture at the end. It’s great that you’re so happy in Florida. We’re having a warm spell right now too. It’s in the upper 60s/low 70s, but there’s snow in the forecast for Wednesday, just in time for the holiday travel. It wouldn’t be Philadelphia without this type of crazy weather!

    • I have another friend in Philadelphia; she said the same thing. It doesn’t get too cold there though, right?

      • A.M.B. says:

        It can get very cold, but it’s unusual. Normally, our highs are above freezing (upper 30s and lower 40s) throughout the winter, but last winter was unusually cold (a few days had highs below 10 degrees). If we have another winter like that, I might end up in Florida too!

  6. ludwigcarol5 says:

    The greatest thing one can do for ones self is make their dreams come true instead of waiting for someone else to do that for them. Only then can those dreams become realty. You made your dreams come true Theo and I’m so happy for you. And of course, Suki too.

    • Suki probably already forgot the misery of last winter, but I haven’t. I can close my eyes and see the snow and ice, and feel the cold wind blowing through bad windows. I may return to visit friends, but never during winter. πŸ™‚

  7. diannegray says:

    Wow – has it been a year already? I’m so glad you made the move πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

