Friday Photos

It’s been a busy week. Just this morning, I downloaded several hundred photos from the camera and spent some time going through them. So many good ones! And I only have room for a few, so let’s get started.

R and I visited a local nursery a few days ago. The people who own it are old. Dan is 90, his wife is in her late 80s, and they still get out and take care of the plants every day. This is one of the walking trails through the extensive acreage. Don’t forget: you can see the original uploaded size by clicking on each photo. Dan's Nursery 11.17.14 sm

R pointed out a dragonfly as we walked. Dragonfly 1 11.11.14 sm

Spotted this gorgeous pink succulent at the base of a tree. Pink succulent 11.17.14 sm

Back at R’s house, butterflies were so intent on feeding on the flowers in his lawn, I was able to take a few pics without them noticing. They landed for split seconds only, so getting anything sharp was a challenge. Orange Butterfly 11.17.14

And we wrap up today’s blog with a sleepy photo of Suki. We were in the lanai, and I spotted her looking cute, so I grabbed the camera and got a couple shots. Sleepy Suki 11.12.14 sm

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I love the pictures, as always. Suki is just too adorable with her tiny face and those gorgeous big eyes.
    Judging by the butterfly picture that was one challenge accepted and well met 🙂 The dragonfly is also stunning. My favourite is the first picture though but then I have a thing about trees and green areas.

    • It’s a wonderful place to wander around. I intend to go back soon. There are half a dozen or more peacocks wandering about too, but they are hard to get photos of under the canopy; dark. He fed them while we were there, but their heads were bobbing up and down so fast, I couldn’t get a clear shot even on Sport setting. Also, right now, the males’ tails are gone, having been shed in August/September. I know this from when we kept peacocks up north. The feathers drop, you pick them up and make them into a bouquet! Better to return in the spring when their tails are back. 🙂

  2. Allison says:

    Suki!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love her even more now that I’ve met her. 😀

    Those shots all make me feel like it’s summer, such beautiful warm feelings .. sigh. The butterfly is beautiful but I feel like could spend ages looking at the dragonfly’s wings.

    Have a great weekend!

    • I sent some of these pics to my friends up north, trying hard not to rub it in that it’s still warm enough here you don’t need a jacket or even a sweater. Every single day that passes, I’m so glad I moved here. I will always miss my friends and the gorgeous landscape in the upper Midwest, but I will never, EVER miss winter there. This year, it began brutally soon for them.

  3. Patricia says:

    Today I learned the male peacock sheds his tail feathers! Thanks, and also those wonderful critters you spot. The dragonfly’s wings are worth staring at a long while.

    • Their construction is so beautiful and perfect, isn’t it? Considering how delicate they appear, I’m amazed I don’t see more dragonflies with torn wings, but it is a rare sight.

      I love peacocks. They are grand birds, very thrifty with their feed (not throwing it around or wasting it in any way), and easy to care for. In many places in Florida, they roam wild. Can you imagine? Up north, they are expensive and kept in cages, albeit large ones to accommodate those tails. You cannot pull peacock feathers. It hurts the bird. You have to wait for them to drop in the fall.

  4. Yvonne says:

    I was waiting for these photos, they brought a bit of summer to a dreary day. Cutest pic of Suki I’ve seen so far.
    A nice weekend to you too:-)

    • You live in one of the cold areas?

      As it happens, it’s dreary here today too. Overcast and occasional rain, but it’s warm so I’m not complaining. 🙂

      • Yvonne says:

        I live on the west coast of Norway. Not cold, 40F at the moment, but dreary weather a lot of the time so your bright pictures are very welcome.

        • We just entered a couple days of soupy clouds. However, at this time of year, no one complains much because NO SNOW, NO COLD, NO ICE, just a little rain, and we need it. I’m still wearing shorts and T-shirts and going barefoot outside.

  5. valjo44 says:

    Been without internet service for a week……terrible! But it was great having two blogs to read and pictures. I love the water drops, exceptional and Suki looks so content and sleepy. I didn’t know that peacocks dropped their tail feathers, I always kind of avoided thinking about how we got the feathers, much nicer to know they aren’t pulled (hopefully).
    Wet and cold here…my lawn is finally greening up…been brown all summer with the drought.

  6. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’m just now getting around to seeing this! Thanks for the lush photos! Believe it or not, they are so wonderful to see when it’s cold and snowy here! It’s why I head to the Cleveland Zoo sometimes just to hang out in the Rain Forest and be in a green, humid climate and hear water and wildlife for awhile. Keep the pics coming – all winter, please! And ending with a Suki pic? Perfect! She is adorable! (Although she looks exhausted! Haha!)

    • Oh yeah. Exhausted from the effort of being cute all day. 😉

      The zoos down here are all outside because–ta-da!–no real winter happens. One of these days, I’m heading up to Tampa to visit that zoo again. I really liked that one. Heck, I should schedule a weekend up there, but not on the weekend. Weekdays are likely less crowded. Visit several Tampa sites, including the aquarium.

  7. ludwigcarol5 says:

    I didn’t get to see these Friday. Jaycee is right. It is nice to see warm beauty when it’s so cold out.

  8. A.M.B. says:

    Suki is adorable. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Leave a Reply

