Maze Update and a few photos

The Haunted Maze is now available in ePub and PDF format at All Romance eBooks.  Thanks to all of you for spreading the word; this is my best-selling book so far! Virtual hugs and wine for everyone. 🙂

_____

As some of you know, last week I met up with a couple online friends in a town called Celebration. It’s located nine miles south of Downtown Disney, which doesn’t allow dogs. Well, service dogs are okay, but others are frowned upon. They wanted to meet Suki, I wanted to bring her, so we relocated our meeting to Celebration, which likes dogs. People have good and bad things to say about the place, and it’s apparently suffered growing pains, but I loved it. Course, I only stayed a few hours. 😉 Still, I wouldn’t mind returning for a couple or three days. I enjoyed the walkability of the place, and I felt safe and comfortable there.

Best decision we ever made! We got to explore a wonderful town with a variety of attractions. The first thing we did was get on a walking trail. It took us into thick trees and around a lake, on the other side of which were expensive houses. I’m talking multi-million dollar places. This is the back of one of them. Notice the waterfall that runs across the entire property? Oy!2K House 11.9.14 sm

On this very same lake (there were several in the downtown area), we spotted this anhinga. It seemed to pose for us. Love the webbed feet. These birds swim. They are fascinating to watch. Anhinga 1 11.9.14 sm

Here’s a closeup. Anhinga closeup 11.9.14 sm

After walking around the lake, we found our way back to the center of town and our restaurant, Celebration Town Tavern. What a terrific place! Because we had Suki with us, we chose to eat on the patio. Good decision! Although it continued to be cloudy, the sun broke through occasionally, and we got to people-watch. This restaurant gives you a view the main lake, the Bohemian Hotel, Starbucks, and other attractions. This signpost was just past the patio. Signpost 11.9.14 sm

We took our time eating, and afterward, wandered around the lake. I took this shot from the far side. Celebration downtown sm

The buildings are beautifully painted and vibrant with color. We could tell “downtown” was a major part of this city. Also on this side of the lake, we spotted a bird named the Common Gallinule. I don’t see much that’s common about it. That red front piece and bright yellow beak accent is striking. It’s not a duck, though people think it is.

Common Gallinule 11.9.14 sm

After we circled the lake, we ended up visiting the Bohemian Hotel, a luxury accommodation in town. I have plans to come back one day, and when I do I will stay at least one night, maybe two. It’s in the perfect location, close to cafes, restaurants, and shops. We went through the lobby and sat in the covered outdoor area. I love these chandeliers! Bohemian Chanelier 11.9.14 sm

And that’s all I have time or room for today. Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Maze Update and a few photos

  1. Allison says:

    :D. I have to say I like the photos even more than usual since I was there when you took them! I haven’t had a chance to look over my shots yet I am planning on that this weekend.

    Looking forward to exploring more of Celebration with you in the future!

    • I had lots more but had to limit them. Heh. I may post more another time.

      Some people may make fun of that place, but I enjoyed it. Ain’t nothing wrong with clean and well planned!

      • Allison says:

        I know there are people that like to mock it just like they mock Disney but that’s why there are choices! 😉 I’m looking forward to seeing the other shots someday.

  2. bevsutherland says:

    Thanks for the virtual hug and wine Fen. It’s a great read!! 🙂

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Yay! Those are awesome pictures and I’d love to see more. (One with all of you in it would be great. A girl can dream…) I at least expected a Suki pic. Can I take credit for finding the place?? It looks totally adorable! Why would anyone mock it? It looks clean and vibrant. And come on…they have a restaurant that allows dogs! I’ve found that people who mock things without ever trying them are just ignorant and God forbid they have to say they were wrong. (The crowds at Disney are big enough as it is.) That anhinga is so cool looking – it almost looks like it has fur. No wonder you were excited to see it. I’m so glad you all had a great day. I was there with you in spirit! :o) (Oh!! And yayz on The Haunted Maze! Maybe Amazon did you a favor – it got you to talk about your own book at least – heh heh heh.) ❤

    • Whatever the reason for it selling so well, I’m grateful, as is my bank account. 🙂 The anhinga is a wonderful bird, so unusual and perfectly adapted for life in Florida. I take photos of it every time I see one. This particular bird, and the new camera, let me get closer than ever.

  4. Lindsaysf says:

    How gorgeous! Next time I’m drawn to my Disney World Mecca, I”ll allow time to go to Celebration. And see if I can lure you to join me!

  5. ludwigcarol5 says:

    See? This is why I love Fridays so much. A day in the life, story, with pictures that are as beautiful as they are telling. So grateful you share.

  6. diannegray says:

    Congratulations on The Haunted Maze 🙂 I love these pictures (particularly the anhinga – those webbed feet are great) 😀

Leave a Reply

