Life is Change

Just when things get comfortable, something changes. Maybe you lose a job or someone you love dies or moves away. Sometimes you’re the one who leaves. People relocate all the time, sometimes for work, sometimes for the hell of it.

I’ve always embraced change on a larger level, and if it doesn’t happen naturally, I take steps to make it occur. Jobs are one area when I get bored easily. I’ve reinvented myself several times as the years have goneΒ by, most often forced into it when the economy changed.

I started in office work. I was good at it, but it didn’t take long for me to want to do other things, and not just because those jobs put me at the bottom of the work ladder. I read manufacturing was a potentially lucrative field, so I trained for quality assurance, taking classes and seminars. Got a pretty good job, then got a better one at a different company. I was just starting to make money at it when jobs were sent off-shore.

So I went in a different direction and became a bookkeeper. I’d taken some accounting classes and thought, “How hard can this be?”

I’ve learned if the thought of taking a job scares the crap out of me, that’s the one to go for because it means there is less chance I’ll be bored. I also like picking up new skills, and I’m good at teaching myself. The first three to four weeks of the new bookkeeping job caused me moments of sheer terror, but I persisted, remembered to always do a backup before I made major changes, and eventually figured it out. That’s when it got fun.

Unfortunately, that one didn’t last, and I was looking for something else about three years later. That’s when I decided to give editing a try, and as always, there was a learning curve, but I eventually mastered it enough to get a job doing it.

The longest time I’ve been in one position was five years. I know! Not long at all compared to some of you, but for me? That’s aΒ long time.

I’ve been writing professionally for four years. Oh-oh! I’m coming up on the dreaded five-year mark. πŸ˜‰

So far, I show no signs of wanting to move on from writing or editing.

And now for photos! As always, to see them in original size, click on the pic.

This first one was taken early in the morning. The dew was heavy on the long grass across the canal. It’s since been cut and is not nearly so interesting.Β Mist on Water sm

I like this one for the backlighting.Β Sun through leaves sm

Such a cliche, taking photos of flowers wet with dew, but I still like looking at them. These small purple flowers are everywhere in south Florida. The bush sports lots of them, and by nightfall, they’ve all fallen to the ground, only to reappear the next day. This was a macro.Purple flowers sm

And the last one today. I did nothing to this photo other than make a slight adjustment to contrast. I love the dangling stamens; they make the flowers look festive.Β Yellow flower sm

Friday, I hope to post pics from my trip to Celebration, FL, yesterday. See you then!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Life is Change

  1. W. Lotus says:

    Those photos are beautiful.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    I hate change. Stayed at first job twenty years and second one fifteen years. Great pics, as always.

  3. Helle Larsen says:

    I used to say I wouldn’t stay more than 7 years in the same job. But with the economy being what it is (and other stuff) I’ve broken that rule and have so far been in my current job for 16 years (Arrgghh). But I move – all the time. I usually last about 2-3 years each place and then I’m off again.. Except for when I had my tiny little farm in the middle of nowhere. I was there for 10 years, absolutely loved it!. I’ve been where I am now for four years and I’m getting restless…

    • I like moving a lot too. New space, new neighborhood. I also miss living on the farm; that was a couple decades ago. I like where I’m living now very much. I hope I can force myself to stay here several years.

  4. Yvonne says:

    Your ‘cliche’ makes a beautiful pic.
    Mostly the big changes in my life have been for the better,bar one or two, but now it looks like I’m going to have to decide to make a major change and it scares the hell out of me.

  5. Patricia says:

    Best jobs for me: alone and lone, solo, no one to talk to, just work. Painting a house, or cleaning 100 aquariums, house cleaning for hire, there is something about the solitary work that attracts me. Peaceful. And many job changes and many moves.

    • I am exactly the same way. Ever have people look at you askance and wonder why you’re so “unstable?” Because I used to get that back in the day, and it really bugged me. I tend to think people like us have a low tolerance for boredom in our lives, and so we constantly seek out stimulation. That is not to say I want an adrenaline rush–I don’t!–but the same old thing day after day tends to make me dull.

  6. skyejones says:

    Beautiful photographs. I love the top one in particular. I love change if I choose it – can’t deal with unwanted change – which is the control freak in me coming out πŸ™‚

  7. Helena Stone says:

    I have a rather ambivalent relationship with change. I’m convinced I hate it and will go out of my way to avoid it. But, if I’m honest, almost every single change I’ve ever made in my life, be it out of my own free will or because I’d little choice, has been an improvement in some way. You’d think that conclusion would make me more open to change but apparently that’s one logical step too far for me. πŸ™‚

    As always I adore your pictures. I think the second one of the leaf is my favourite. I could look at it for hours.

  8. Allison says:

    Change is something I seek in some areas of my life and avoid in other areas. My experience is that once I made a change it was easier to accept the next change and to seek out new experiences.

    The leaf shot is fantastic, I have something similar with a flower that I love. The final shot is my favorite, it’s fireworks made of flowers! πŸ™‚

  9. diannegray says:

    I love that last picture – it looks like mini-fireworks πŸ˜€ Best of luck with the editing, I hope you get loads of work. It’s something I’d love to do, but unfortunately I’m pretty hopeless at it (unless it’s a corporate document) πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks. While I enjoy editing, I hope to gradually earn enough in royalties I can write full time and only edit when I want to. πŸ™‚ The older I get, the more I value time spent traveling, exploring, or simply spending an afternoon on the couch reading.

  10. A.M.B. says:

    “So far, I show no signs of wanting to move on from writing or editing.”

    Phew! I was preparing myself for some very bad news. I’m glad to hear that you’re going to keep up with the writing. You’re good at it!

    • Aw, thanks. πŸ™‚ And I much appreciate you continuing to support my writing by buying the new releases. A writer can ask for nothing more. Which you know, being a writer now yourself. Working on a new book yet? Or too busy with work of late?

  11. ludwigcarol5 says:

    The best job I ever had was as a ride operator at the Seattle Center. I started working there at age 14. I was a homeless kid living under a bridge with others and stealing fruit from a stand at the Public Market. When the owner of said stand caught me and offered to get me the job as a way to pay for my apples and lettuce, I and another jumped on it. I started as a grounds sweeper and then at 16 got trained as a ride operator. I worked there until I was almost 19.I met my first husband there and a few months before my 19th birthday, moved to Alabama. I’m 53 now and still wish to someday return to Seattle and walk the path I once lived and worked.
    The pictures are, as always, beautiful Theo. I believe the purple ones are Azaleas but I could be wrong. They grow every where down south.

    • I think you’re right about the flowers being azaleas. I looked them up. Thanks. I like knowing what I’m taking photos of. And thanks for posting your story! It would make a good book, I think. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

