Haunted Maze note and a few photos

The Haunted Maze will be on sale for $.99 until midnight tonight. This is my way of thanking all the readers who have supported me and my writing. Without you guys, there’s no point in writing! 🙂

During my time away from the blog, I took some new photos. This first one was taken from R’s front door early one morning. Sunrise at Rs sm

The next one is of a limpkin eating a snail. I watched him poke around in the water for several minutes while he extracted it. The empty shell is to the right. The lighting was not great, but post-processing made it clearer. Limpkin Eating Snail sm

I love this next shot. The same morning I took the first photo, I spotted this beautiful spider web in the field adjoining R’s property. No one lives there, so creatures remain undisturbed. I never spotted the spider though. Notice the hole in the center of the web.Field Spider Web sm

Last, we’re going to do a before/after because the change is so impressive. I was sitting in the lanai doing final edits on The Haunted Maze when I spotted this osprey. He flew left to right over the canal, and I saw instantly he had something in his claws.

I grabbed the camera, ran outside, and took half a dozen photos. He knew I was there, and he did fly off but not before I captured him with his prize. He had caught a good meal. 🙂

We start with the before photo, straight out of the camera. Only thing I’ve done is crop it. eagle and fish before processing

The sun was just above the trees and behind the bird, which makes for a crappy photo, as you can see. It’s washed out and flat, but the composition is good, so I spent some time on it.

The first thing I did was adjust contrast, and that made all the difference. He really popped! After that, it was only a question of removing noise and sharpening up a couple areas. Eagle and fish sm

What a beauty he is! I’ve seen him flying over the canal every morning for a couple weeks. How nice of him to sit in the dead tree for a couple minutes so I could get pics of him. 🙂

I’ve purchased a new camera! It’s been a few years, and after doing my research and looking at galleries, I decided to move to the Canon SX50 IS. It should be here Tuesday. It has a whopping 1280 zoom, which should assist me in getting closer to the wildlife. I’m also getting a new tripod (mine broke a while back) and a few screw-on lenses. One of them will be of particular help when shooting in bright light.

I’m so excited! New cameras always make me want to seek out new subject matter.

See y’all Friday. Have a great week.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Haunted Maze note and a few photos

  1. Yvonne says:

    I really love that photo taken from R’s front door! And the spider web. Not sure I want to think about the size of the spider though.

  2. In photo one, is that a sculpture that looks like a dragon?

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Amazing photos, as usual! I’m always fascinated with the changes your “tweaking” makes because I have NO clue about that type of thing. All my pictures suck, haha. Congrats on the new camera – that’s exciting!! I’m thinking we will maybe benefit a bit from that too in the way of more pictures!

    • It isn’t much different from my current camera. It’s only the long zoom that tempted me into laying down the money. 🙂 I’m hoping it makes a difference in photographing wildlife, which is notoriously difficult to get close to in many cases. I’m sure it has a learning curve, too. All new cameras do. One has to learn how to make it do what one wants it to. Not always as easy as it sounds. The tripod should help, though. Steady the camera at that long zoom so it isn’t blurry.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Congratulations on the Haunted Maze. You managed to enthrall me once again.

    Those pictures are, as always, gorgeous. You have a wonderful eye for the beautiful and extra special and we’re privileged you’re happy to share your treasures with us. It’s sort of contagious too. I never used to take pictures or even take my phone (yeah, don’t actually own a camera) with me when out and about. These days I don’t leave the house without and and amaze myself with the things I suddenly see that are worth capturing.

    • Jaycee Edward says:

      At one time, I’d thought I’d love to be a wildlife photographer. I was more patient then, I think. I used to love to sit and watch birds, bugs, bunnies…whatever…for long periods – just studying them. It can be fascinating.

      • I once got a painful sunburn chasing down a dragonfly. I had to stand around for a while in really hot sun to get the photo. I didn’t realize until that night how red I was.

        I need the discipline of photography; patience has never been one of my traits, and when you have a camera in your hands, you are forced to be quiet and still.

    • I’ve ended up kicking myself for leaving my camera at home on some occasions. Not wise, as I almost always see something I want to capture.

      The more photos you take, the better you get, too.

  5. Lindsaysf says:

    Loved Haunted Maze! Very satisfying.
    So that’s where your Nessie came from! I love that picture.

  6. ludwigcarol5 says:

    Really great to see you back Theo. The pictures are great.

  7. Patricia says:

    Beautiful osprey and his catch. I like your tweaking. I have seen American Bald eagles here on the Gulf Coast of Florida however no ospreys yet.

  8. diannegray says:

    These are fantastic shots. The limpkin eating the snail and osprey with the fish are Nat Geo quality!

    • If only that were true. Heh. But thanks for the compliment. I do feel I am steadily improving, and today I got a new camera with incredible zoom. I’m going to have to play with it until I figure it out. 🙂

  9. A.M.B. says:

    I love the photos! The web and the osprey are amazing.

    • I do love my canal. 🙂 I never tired of watching the wildlife. My friend R’s place is also another good area to scout out interesting creatures, as it’s in the midst of a largely undeveloped area.

Leave a Reply

