I’m back…

And my novella,Β The Haunted Maze, is still in limbo at Amazon.

I’ve heard I am not the only author this is happening to, which is comforting in a way, but far better everyone see their books go live than be this frustrated.

I uploaded the book around 4:30 Thursday afternoon. Amazon’s normal turnaround is twelve hours. It still wasn’t live the next morning, so I started chasing it down, trying to find someone who could help me.

I chatted, I emailed, I called, and I was either told they couldn’t do anything or fed the company line about publication taking twelve hours.

I am now, as I write this, seeing the approach of forty-eight hours without publication, their absolute longest time between submission and going live, and still no sign it’s going to happen. The book remains “in review,” meaning I can’t get at it in any way, not even to remove it from the site.

I literally cannot go back or forward at this point. If I hadn’t checked the KDP Select box, I could upload it elsewhere, but I did, and now I’m stuck.

Once I went public with this on FB, I started hearing about other problems Amazon has lately had, and speculation is that they are doing some kind of major revamp.

Well, bully for them! They should let us know when we can’t do some things because of system updates so we can plan accordingly.

I am now in the uncomfortable position of not knowing when my book will be available.

Thanks for understanding and hanging in there. I will post here as soon as I know anything.

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m back…

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    This is like virtual BDSM. Holding our breath. Edging. Makes the release so much more intense when it happens. ;o)

  2. Allison says:

    I think they should offer you a bump to the recommended list for every hour you’re delayed going live. It is the least they can do.

    • I think they should make me #1 on their all-over bestseller list for at least one day. πŸ˜‰

      Ain’t gonna happen though. Someone on Twitter said all they did was say “Gee, I’m sorry.”

  3. Patricia says:

    Thanks for un-blocking the link problem, and now I am appreciative of your sharing of publishing problems. I’ll look for “The Haunted Maze.” I buy almost all my books on Kindle now, but recently bought The Grapes of Wrath in paper, one of those classics I never got around to. I am happy with ebooks, and am looking forward to reading more of yours. My first look at your work was “Precog in Peril” and it hooked me, so I bought several more. Each story is unique and kind of addictive.

  4. Helena Stone says:

    It is very nice to see you reunited with your blog (it’s amazing how used I get to reading certain blogs on certain days and how much I miss them when they’re not there). I’ve got a feeling this was not the ‘I’m back’ post you had in mind when you first decided to take a month off.

    I’m so sorry Amazon is being a dick and giving you the run-around. Hopefully the book will be up before too long. I can only imagine how frustrating it must be for you.

    On the other hand, there’s truth to Jaycee’s words as well. I’m now so eager to read this book of yours I’ll even allow it to interfere with my NaNo word-count as soon as it arrives. I can’t imagine I’m the only one stalking Amazon either.

    • πŸ™‚ It’s been difficult to move on while I wait for Amazon to fix this, but I’m actively plotting the sequel to Weatherboy and intend to start writing it soon.

      Besides, I’m no good when I’m not writing. I can skip a day now and again, but if a week goes by, I start feeling constipated. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

