Beware: Anonymous Commenters & Those Who Seek To Unmask Them

One of my favorite bloggers, who is a lawyer, takes a look at Ellora’s Cave.

The Misfortune Of Knowing

Curious Case of Elloras Cave

Erotica publisher Ellora’s Cave’s defamation (libel) lawsuit in Ohio state court against Dear Author and the blogger behind it for a September 14th post discussing the publisher’s financial stability and practices is a hot topic on the Internet this week.

I’m not going to comment on the merits of the allegations — I really have no idea about the truth or falsity of the statements on Dear Author — but I will say that this lawsuit is yet another cautionary tale for the so-called “uncredentialed” bloggers out there without a legal team or liability insurance. It’s a reminder about the importance of checking quotes, checking facts, and limiting the vitriol in our posts.

But, of course, there’s only so much a blogger can do to protect herself from a defamation lawsuit. I can only hope that the checks we have in our judicial system to limit frivolous lawsuits — such…

View original post 509 more words

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beware: Anonymous Commenters & Those Who Seek To Unmask Them

  1. Wow. I choked on my coffee when I clicked on the lawsuit and saw the address. She lives VERY close to me. I could walk to her house if being held at gunpoint. Hard to believe she was making that kind of money because if it were me, the first thing I’d do is move.

    • Apparently, she did move. She took all that money she made and allegedly never passed on to staff and authors, and bought a “compound” in Venice, CA. Apparently, she bragged about it on social media (buying the place, not stiffing people). If you follow the link to Dear Author, the whole thing is laid out in gruesome detail, which is why DA is being sued.

      • Did the Google Earth thing. Looks like the address is actually an old bldg in the industrial part of Akron. Not her house. If she made that kind of money, she no doubt shopped where I worked. I probably saw her a few times. Small world.

  2. diannegray says:

    Interesting post by AMB. I’m making my way through all the links now to see how this whole thing started.

  3. Karen H. says:

    I’ll be curious to see how this plays out, since it’s probably safe to assume that some portion of the ‘anonymous’ blogger names that EC are demanding are probably not US citizens. So I’m curious as to how that will factor into a courts decision. This whole situation sounds like a legal nightmare no matter how it goes.

    • The owner of EC sounds a little loony tunes to me. Or possibly, because she’s American and was raised surrounded by lawyers, she’s fallen prey to the notion of suing everyone for any reason at all. A good judge should throw this out. There’s probably plenty of proof she committed financial malfeasance, and “freedom of speech” covers the rest as long as you aren’t libeling anyone. If she’s guilty of wrongdoing, there’s no libel involved.

Leave a Reply

