Photos and News

Some of you probably noticed I didn’t post a blog last Friday. That’s ’cause I was/am buried in work. I see another three to four weeks of serious editing ahead of me, and whenever I get a day off between projects, I turn to my own stuff.

This morning (Sunday), I finished the initial edit on Weatherboy and sent it off to the beta readers. I’m hoping they don’t find any major screwups. Yes, this is possible. Writers often suffer from tunnel vision and forget some things as they concentrate on others.

Hopefully, I’ll know in the next week or so. In the meantime, life goes on and there is plenty else to do. I took the pic of the moth, below, as I was leaving R’s house one afternoon. He’s up north again, and I am taking care of the cats and plants. 

This is related to the sphinx moth, but it’s precise name could not be pinned down. It was hanging on the wall outside his front door. I’m always amazed that something as simple as a moth displays such intricate designs on its wings. Nature is truly marvelous.

Type of Sphinx Moth 9.26.14 sm

 

I took this next photo yesterday. We’ve had a lot of rain as the season winds up, and there was something about the water drops on the stem that appealed to me. The blurred plants in the background add interest. Wet 9.27.14 sm

 

Last but not least is a dragonfly called the Eastern Pondhawk. I was tossing chlorine in R’s pool when it landed beside me. I fetched the camera and it posed for me.  Must have flown in one of the doors. It will find things to eat, so I’m not worried about it surviving. Eastern Pondhawk 2 9.28.14 sm

Eastern Pondhawk 1 9.28.14 sm

Another busy week lies ahead. Hope you have a good one! I’ll be back Friday with more sample edits.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Photos and News

  1. I noticed there was no blog, but knew you were overwhelmed. Thanks for sharing some lovely shots to start our week even though you’re swamped.

    • You’re welcome. I’ve been sitting on lots of photos the last couple weeks. Well, maybe not lots, but I have some I haven’t processed yet.

      I won’t complain about all the work lately, because it means extra money, and I’m trying to pay off the car early. That’s my immediate goal these days: pay off the car!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful pictures, as always. The moth took me by surprise. I’d always thought of them as grey, boring butterflies; who knew there was so much more to their wings.
    Our busy lives are always a toss-up between welcome and the last thing we want, at least they are for me. I’ll be working extra hours this week to cover for a colleague. I’ll resent it while I’m working but appreciated when the wages hit my bank account.

  3. Brandilyn says:

    Absolutely adore the water droplet picture. That is the kind of photography I enjoy doing.

  4. Patricia says:

    I love your dragonflies, keep them coming.

  5. Allison says:

    I figured you were too busy to post on Friday, glad you’re making the money and paying off the car, always a good feeling!

    I love the first shot of the Pondhawk, it looks almost like it’s challenging you. “I see you buddy, you better watch yourself!” 😀

    Have a good week, hon.

  6. Absolutely gorgeous photos, Theo! I know about being bogged down in work, because I’ve been there, too. 😦 I am just hoping to have time to work on my stuff. *sighs*

  7. diannegray says:

    I always grab the camera when I see a moth or a butterfly (I just love their colours). The water droplets picture is a great one. It’s raining here today so I may venture into the garden to see what I can find! 😀

    Yes – pay off the car! 😉

    • Got a terrific capture at R’s this afternoon. Unfortunately, it was cloudy, but the colors of this dragonfly, one I’ve been chasing for weeks, are clear. Can’t wait to go through them and pick out the best.

  8. A.M.B. says:

    Great pictures! Good luck getting everything done. I’m inundated with work too, partly because I took a much needed vacation last week. After the deadline laden summer we had, our kids really needed us to focus just on them.

Leave a Reply

