Editing Samples Part 3 and a Photo

It was a crazy weekend. R was on his way back up north, and I was running back and forth between his house and mine, plus working on two different edits. One of them, as you know, wasย Consent. Good book; you’re going to like it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are two more sample edits for you to peruse.

sample 3

sample 4

Two different genres, two different styles of writing. Both writers have a good grasp of their craft, but we can all improve. Becoming aware of what you’re saying as you write is the first step.ย Hear it,ย and you’ll start to realize what needs changing or deleting. Becoming a good writer is a process. Few of us, if any, are born knowing how to write well. We have to learn it.

__________

I was sitting with a neighbor watching the canal when a heron flew in and began looking for food in the shallows. I had the camera along and was lucky enough to get a shot of it with dinner in its mouth. I wonder if they get pissed when the fish accidentally gets away? Do birds get angry, or is that a human thing?ย Little Blue with Fish sm

I have another busy week ahead of me, but I plan to enjoy every minute! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Editing Samples Part 3 and a Photo

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’ll fess up that the second one is mine. (Note the warning about elipises…heh) I love seeing these edits, because sometimes it’s easier to spot mistakes in other people’s work than it is your own. It made me happy that this one had fewer bubbles than the first time I sent you a sample. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Theo!

  2. Helena Stone says:

    I’m really enjoying these editing samples you’re sharing. I know I’m learning something from every single one of them. Thank you.

    The picture as always, is beautiful. Every time I look at one of your photos I think ‘maybe I should get myself a proper camera’, and then I reject the idea because I know it is unlikely I’d ever really take to it. I’ll continue to admire yours instead ๐Ÿ™‚

    • This photo was very noisy for some reason. Still not sure why, but I had to mess with it a bit to make it acceptable (to me; most people don’t notice). I still don’t think it’s a great pic, but it’s a good photo because of the fish in his mouth.

  3. Patricia says:

    Sharp editing. Good lessons for me. And that black bird!

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Just as writers have to keep writing to get better, so do editors have to keep editing to get better at what they do. I wasn’t always this sharp, but I’m getting to the place where I see most things that need fixing in a manuscript.

  4. Yvonne says:

    Interesting to see the editor at work.

    Those silver/grey leaves give an eerie twist to the picture.

  5. diannegray says:

    More great edits here. It’s such an interesting process!

    I think birds get angry too. I saw three of them yesterday chasing a hawk away from their nests. They were really pissed ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Jaycee Edward says:

    Oh, and I had a Nanday Conure and yes, they get PISSED!!

  7. fridaville says:

    I never think of editing as some onerous add-on to the actual writing because the work really gets shaped during the edit. While I’m editing, I feel the piece take on almost a physical geometric shape in my mind when I’m getting it right. I think films are the same way — raw footage that the film editor and director collaborate on to pare and polish it into its final form. I’m lucky that I love to edit as much as write — actually more, because once I’m in the edit stage, I know I’m in the home stretch. Great job on those samples.

    • I don’t like editing my work that much, but it is the last chance I have to get it right, make it say what I want it to. I feel fortunate in that I write pretty clean. The words come out well from the start.

Leave a Reply

