Consent Gets Edited and Cover Reveal

Well, not all of it. The book is still with the betas. But AJ gave me permission to post a scene from the novel, which I’ve edited.

AJ writes fairly clean, and that makes my job as her editor easy and fun. 🙂

Consent excerpt pic

I’ve always found AJ easy to work with. She doesn’t want me blowing smoke up her ass, and I knows she considers every suggestion carefully before deciding whether or not to accept it.

The relationship between author and editor is a special one, and if you are lucky enough to work with someone again and again, understanding grows as to what each expects of the other. We don’t always agree, but we respect each other’s opinion.

_________

My desktop computer crashed yesterday. I couldn’t get it rebooted, so I spent too much of Sunday screwing around with recovery. I’m nowhere near finished restoring backed-up files to the laptop yet, but I am determined to finish the first draft of Weatherboy this week. There are only a few scenes left. Then I must do a full edit, which may lead to some rewrites before I can send it to my betas.

In the meantime, here is the cover for the book. Some of you have already glimpsed a modified version on Facebook. Because it’s YA, I wanted lots of color and sharp edges. It’s busier than my usual covers, but I believe it fits the intended readers and the story.

Dramatic sunset

 

Have a great week! See you Friday with more edit examples.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Consent Gets Edited and Cover Reveal

  1. Brandilyn says:

    excited for both of these.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    This posts had me excited for a variety of reasons.
    1. A scene from Consent. Need I say more? I guess not so I’ll leave it there.
    2. A glimpse at AJ’s pre-edit words. It is encouraging to see even those I admire make the occasional ‘mistake’.
    3. The cover reveal for your upcoming book. Yes, I know I saw it before but still, it’s official now and that’s exciting. I can’t wait to read this story.

    I’m sorry about your computer. I hate it when that happens even if no valuable information is lost. Just the time needed to restore things to what they used to be is a nightmare. I hope it all works out and won’t interfere with your writing schedule.

    • I’m determined to finish the YA before spending serious time on the computer issues. In fact, I am considering getting another laptop to use as backup and repository of files and programs I don’t use much. I’m still considering my options.

      The iTunes restoration was less than successful, leaving me with a lot of work to do to get it back to what it was (including playlists!), and I don’t have the time or space right now. Everything is safe on the backup drive, so it’s not going anywhere. As long as I can keep the iPod charged and not synced to the laptop, the songs and stuff are safe there, too. I’ll find a way to deal with it, but not today.

  3. Patricia says:

    I’m going to read this! Like the cover too.

  4. Christine J. says:

    Thank you for sharing these. I am so excited for both!

  5. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’m totally jealous of that edit. Dang. I purposely didn’t look at it too close because I don’t want to read any of it until I can read ALL of it.

    Sucks about your computer. Even with a good backup it’s still a pain and a certain amount of work involved. I know from experience that the music aspect is the worst. I hope you get it all back.

    The teenager in me is drooling over that cover. She tends to respond to things visually long before the adult in me, who has to run everything thru the filters society has given me to use.

    • I’ve put off dealing with the computer for a few days. There are other things more important right now. All the data is safe, so this can wait. And sometimes, things are revealed in the fullness of time that you wouldn’t have seen if you’d rushed in with your hair on fire. 😉

  6. diannegray says:

    Weatherboy looks very intriguing by the look of that cover! Um, yes, too many ‘looks’ in this sentence 😉

    I hate computer issues and I’ve had enough this year to last me a lifetime. I see what you mean about AJs writing – it’s excellent! 😀

  7. Yvonne says:

    Looking forward to both books.

  8. A.M.B. says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your computer! That would’ve driven me crazy. I’m just so dependent on my computer (as we all are these days). Good luck with Weatherboy. I love the cover.

    • I got lucky. I turned on the desktop yesterday and was amazed when it booted. So I turned off sleep mode and am leaving it running until I get what I want off it. iTunes was the first thing I copied. No way was I going to chance losing all that music!

      I can’t trust that computer anymore, and it’s too old to put money into, so it will undoubtedly “go away” and be replaced by something else. We certainly have become dependent on our machines!

Leave a Reply

