How Brave Are You?

I talk about writing often. I’ve mentioned ABP (autonomous body parts, as in eyes taking trips around rooms and hands doing all sorts of things on their own), trying rather than doing, repetition, wordiness, run-on sentences, and on and on.

As long as there are writers, editors will never run out of work. It seems we all must make the same writing mistakes when we’re starting out, and as we go along–if we make an effort to improve–we get better.

Just how good are you?ย Show me.

Send meย a sample of no more than 300 words (fenraven at gmail). I will edit it for nothing and send it back. But here’s the thing: I will also post it on the blog (anonymously, of course; no one will know the sample belongs to you) so everyone can see what an editor does to a manuscript.ย 

One way writers get better is by paying attention to what editors say and do on your work. By sharing, we all learn.

So, how brave are you? If no one sends me samples, well, we’ll know the answer to that question, won’t we? ๐Ÿ™‚

Think I’m perfect? Ha! Nope. I dug up a piece of writing I did several years ago and found a few things. I may do something with this in the future, so please remember it’s copyrighted, ‘kay? Thanks.

Untitled-1

The PoV change surprised me. This will have to be revised if I move forward with it because omniscient is difficult to do correctly, and I really don’t want to be in everyone’s head. Crap!

I was very picky with this sample, seeing as it was written by me. Heh. “Back” could stay or go, but I lined it out anyway. Editors make suggestions, but the writer makes final decisions.

Have a great week! See you Friday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How Brave Are You?

  1. I have a problem with omniscient, because I really can’t tell that from head hopping. The only thing I can imagine makes it work well is that the reader is never in a deep PoV; that it’s like watching TV rather than being in the scene, skimming the surface rather than being in a character’s skin. And as both a reader and writer, I love deep PoV.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Hmmm. Interesting challenge but bad timing. Is there a “deadline”?

  3. Very scared, but think I may take you up on this – I’ve never got as far as a professional editor before!

  4. JadeCrystal says:

    Since you’re posting it anonymously, I can be brave. If you were going to attach my name to it, perhaps not so much, lol. Now which three hundred words to choose… *ponders*

  5. I want to send one. Just have to figure out what.

  6. diannegray says:

    What a great idea. I don’t have much at the moment, but will see if i can find something ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. schillingklaus says:

    Obtrusive omniscient narration—in the likeness of Henry Fielding’s Tom Jones, Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Seven Gables, William Thackeray’s Vanity Fair, or Herman Melville’s Pierre—is my one true wat to go, and none of your propaganda, such as calling it head hopping, will ever be able to deter me from folling that path. `

Leave a Reply

